Spy tracks wrong innertext value

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
matthiask
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 2:16 pm

Spy tracks wrong innertext value

Post by matthiask » Tue May 30, 2017 4:03 pm

Hello,
i have a problem with my RanoreX Spy. When i track the innertext of a label on a website with the Spy, under Windows 7, the innertext will be tracked wrong. The Label shows in Firefox "Ungültige Eingabe" and the Spy shows for the value of the innertext "Ungültige Eingabe". In my Win 10 VM it has the right value.
After searching in the Internet, I found out, that the Spy catches the innertext with windows-1252 format instead of utf-8, which is used by the website.
How can i change the language setting of the RanoreX Spy. I read the Documentation, but found nothing to solve this Problem.
PS: It is necessary to identify the label with its innertext in utf-8.

Best regards

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy tracks wrong innertext value

Post by odklizec » Wed May 31, 2017 9:48 am

Hi, I remember problem like this to be discussed in the past. Are you using the latest supported Ranorex versions (6.2.1 or 7.0.1). If not, please update your Ranorex version. I believe this problem has already been fixed in these versions.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

matthiask
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 2:16 pm

Re: Spy tracks wrong innertext value

Post by matthiask » Wed May 31, 2017 10:32 am

Hello,
i have updated my Ranorex-Version to the latest. But the problem remained.
I solved it accidently by my self. The Ranorex Automation NG Firefox-Plugin was an old version, 1.0.5. Thethe new 1.0.9 version works well.
So, if someone has the same problem, update the Plugin!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy tracks wrong innertext value

Post by odklizec » Wed May 31, 2017 11:11 am

Yeah, that's it! Now I found the original post with solution of this problem ;)
firefox-plugin-converting-accented-char ... tml#p42586
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration