stress testing

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
samudrajit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:37 am

stress testing

Post by samudrajit » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:43 am

we are planning to buy ranorex premium(node locked)so we have some queries
1.can we put it one the server and run it on concurrent machines.
2.is it good enough for stress testing.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: stress testing

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:30 pm

Hi,
samudrajit wrote:1.can we put it one the server and run it on concurrent machines.
Sorry but you need one license per computer.
samudrajit wrote:2.is it good enough for stress testing.
Ranorex is not a stress testing tool. Ranorex is a Functional Automated Test Tool for your User Interface.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: stress testing

Post by Ciege » Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:41 pm

samudrajit wrote:2.is it good enough for stress testing.
Support Team wrote:Ranorex is not a stress testing tool. Ranorex is a Functional Automated Test Tool for your User Interface.
Depending on what your definition of "stress testing" is and what you really want to do, Ranorex may be able to work for you.
As the support team mentioned Ranorex is a Functional Automation Tool, however, you can use it's automation ability to drive certain things into "stressing" your AUT. It really depends on what it is you *really* want to do. Can you elaborate on what type of AUT it is and what you would consider a valid stress test?
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
slavikf
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: stress testing

Post by slavikf » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:31 pm

Support Team wrote:Hi,
samudrajit wrote:1.can we put it one the server and run it on concurrent machines.
Sorry but you need one license per computer.
I understand, that other option would be floating license. Right?

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: stress testing

Post by Ciege » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:40 pm

slavikf wrote:
Support Team wrote:Hi,
samudrajit wrote:1.can we put it one the server and run it on concurrent machines.
Sorry but you need one license per computer.
I understand, that other option would be floating license. Right?

Note that they asked about concurrent machines. That being the case they would need a license per computer, be they node locked or floating. If floating they would need enough floating licenses to account for the number of concurrent machines.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

samudrajit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:37 am

Re: stress testing

Post by samudrajit » Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:53 am

by stress testing we mean we want our software run beyond its limits so that we know how it works in adverse conditions

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: stress testing

Post by Support Team » Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:34 pm

Hi,
Ranorex Team
samudrajit wrote:by stress testing we mean we want our software run beyond its limits so that we know how it works in adverse conditions
I think everybody knew what stress testing means, but please can you describe us an use case for your specific stress test? This would be very helpful. Thank you.

For example:
Testing a web server to observe the performance of a web site during peak loads.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: stress testing

Post by Ciege » Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:49 pm

Indeed...
What type of AUT is this? Web based? Client Server? DB? Etc...

Do you want to stress the number of users logging in over a period of time?
Do you want to stress the connection of the AUT to the DB?
Do you want to stress the host server, CPU, memory, hard drive space?
Do you want to stress the traffic sent to a host through tons of gets and posts?
Do you know the limits of your AUT and what would be considered approaching stress, stressed and over stressed is?

Depending on your type of AUT, how you want to "stress" it will help dictate what direction people here can help you go.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

samudrajit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:37 am

Re: stress testing

Post by samudrajit » Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:03 am

we want to stress test:
1.number of user logging over a period of time.
2.connection of AUT to DB