Structure of test cases

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
atam
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:58 pm
Contact:

Structure of test cases

Post by atam » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:52 pm

Hi,

I am seeking advice regarding how to structure test cases and suites in Ranorex.

In our previous test automation environment, we used Selenium and Fitnesse.

We had 22 test suites and around 200 test cases.

Execution was suppose to support:

1. Running one test suite containing X number of test cases.
or
2. Running one specific test case
or
3. Running an entire regression, all 200 test cases.

This is how we wanted to structure the test cases in Ranorex.
We have a solution, containing one suite (looking at the rxtst):


RegressionTest (Suite in Ranorex)
Suite1 (folder)
TestCase1 (Test case)
Recordings 1..n
TestCase2 (Test case)
Recordings 1..n
Suite2 (folder)
TestCase3 (Test case)
Recordings 1..n
etc..

At the same time, we thought about using the same suite folder structure in Ranorex File Explorer

So under the solution, we would have Suite1 as a folder and place all belonging recordings in that folder.

When building the .exe file, we could then create different configurations. For example, one configuration name per suite in order to be able to execute on specific suite etc...

What do you think about this setup? Is it good or bad? We want everything under one solution and we need to be able to execute test cases in different scopes.

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Structure of test cases

Post by Support Team » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:43 am

Hello,

Basically this is a good approach, but I think it will not work if you have more test cases in a folder (you called it suite) and you want to run only these test cases.
I would define 'main test cases' with the working test cases in it.
Something like this:
TestStructure.png
TestStructure.png (4.22 KiB) Viewed 1437 times
I hope this helps!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

atam
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Structure of test cases

Post by atam » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:35 pm

Hi!

Great idea, then we dont need to create one custom configuration name for each folder, and instead we can call that test case (representing the suite) with flag!

Thanks!