Suggestion on Databinding

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
David Zita
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:20 pm

Suggestion on Databinding

Post by David Zita » Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:16 am

Hi,
I don't expect direct answer from Ranorex team here, I'd rather see people's opinions on this.

I use Ranorex for a year now and it's great tool. When I develop my tests, I try to make it as modular as possible (so I can later add more tests to cover regression). So my current test case looks like this:
modules.png
Test case with modules
modules.png (89.93 KiB) Viewed 759 times
That's great, but when I need to bind the values to the variables, it's pain in the ***, see
binding.png
Databinding
binding.png (22.21 KiB) Viewed 759 times
I kind of understand why is it like that, however I think a simple enhancement could make it much clearer. That is to control the binding from the side of module (or better say an instance of a module). Currently you define on the side of test case variable to which module variable it is bound. But why don't define on the side of module variables which test case variables will be used? Internaly nothing would change, it's just better user experience. I have drawn a simple button in the modules.png. A simple window would appear with a table of two columns, one with the module variable names, and one with values where you could either directly write a value or choose from test case variables.

What do you, users of Ranorex, think? Please, let me know. Thank you.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Suggestion on Databinding

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:48 am

Hi,

If I may suggest something, use the same name for module variables and data connectors whenever possible, so then you can use Auto-Bind functionality. This will greatly improve your workflow and make your life much easier ;) Of course, this may not work for 100% cases. But it would definitely make the binding process easier for you.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

David Zita
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Suggestion on Databinding

Post by David Zita » Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:55 am

I do that, but as you said, it's not possible all the time. In simple cases the binding is not a problem, but when you get to more complicated case, it becomes less and less obvious of what is bound to what. Imagine that I would need to hand over my tests to someone else. And he would want to know, what 5 variables are bound to particular test module. He would need to check every single drop-down menu and look for the test module. And don't forget there are some of them used several times, so he needs to check the index also ... It's really not handy

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Suggestion on Databinding

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:29 am

Yeah, I agree that the binding process is not particularly easy and straightforward with more complex scenarios ;) Anyway, Ranorex folks currently collect feature requests only via email. I personally think it would be better to have a "Feature Requests" category also here at forum and maybe even with polling, so people could add their vote for this or that feature request ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

David Zita
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Suggestion on Databinding

Post by David Zita » Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:51 am

Yeah, that's sort of what I was hoping for. To have a thread with some feedback from the community and then I would send a suggestion via email with a link to this thread.
Btw, another 'great' thing about the current way of databinding is when you copy some module instance with already bound variables. The copied module has the same variables bound and if you want to change them, you need to first find the currently bound variables, unbind them and then bind them with desired connectors. Really cool! :)

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Suggestion on Databinding

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 03, 2016 12:43 pm

If you mean that the binded variables stay binded even after copy&paste of module to another TC (with the same data connectors), I think it's a feature and I would say it's (usually) a good one! At least I'm happy with it in 99.9 cases ;) You can always use "Clear Binding" to remove unwanted bindings?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

David Zita
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Suggestion on Databinding

Post by David Zita » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:39 pm

If anyone agrees with this, please support my suggestion here http://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/150 ... binding-ui
Thanks.