Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Ask general questions here.
[email protected]
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 7:03 pm

Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by [email protected] » Mon May 16, 2016 7:10 pm

Hi ,

I was evaluating remote test execution support feature released as part of Ranorex 6.0 & found no support for command-line execution of remote tests.(command-line support for distributed execution could help easy integration with Jenkins or any other Continuous integration tools.)

Seems like currently we can run remote distributed tests only from Ranorex studio, please confirm.

jbeeson
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by jbeeson » Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:32 am

No response to this yet? I'm curious about this as well. I want to run a remote test and then run a local test that depends on what my remote device did and this seems like the most logical way to do it.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by krstcs » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:22 pm

Have you read the user manual? It clearly spells out how to use the command-line with Ranorex tests and specifically what each command-line switch does.

I use Jenkins all the time for remote testing with the Ranorex command-line and it works wonderfully, and it is what I recommend for true remote testing.

If you are having a problem that the user guide doesn't address, please explain it in detail.

The NEW Remote Agent functionality in Ranorex Studio is currently designed to be used from within Ranorex Studio. The Remote Agents can be called via API calls, but I'm not sure if those API calls are available for public use at this time.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

tkuprat
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by tkuprat » Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:44 pm

We tried also the find out how we can call the remoting feature inside a test via API.
We tried to use the following:
var device_ret = RemoteServiceLocator.Service.GetByDisplayName("Test PC");
and
var device = RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AddDevice(
"Test PC",
RemotePlatform.Any,
RemoteConnectionType.WLAN,
"xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx");

The remote plattform seems to support only Android and iOS so far. Connection via WLAN is also not sufficient, due to cabled LAN.
Is there a way to call a test on a remoting client? May be also from command line executing the test on another PC?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:10 pm

Hi tkuprat,

Welcome to the Ranorex Forum.

Unfortunately, we don't provide API to add Ranorex Agents. Please try adding the Ranorex Agents like described in our user guide.

The mentioned code sample refers to mobile devices and is not related to the new Ranorex Remote feature.

I would suggest having a look at our user guide, where the scope of this feature is described in detail.
I hope this information will help you.

Sincerely,
Johannes
.
Image

wyssmana
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by wyssmana » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:55 am

So if I understand correctly there is no way that I can tell the Ranorex Runner to run which configuration to run on which agent by command line?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:36 am

Hi,

Yes, you got it right. There is currently no way to use Ranorex remote agents from command line. Ranorex remote test execution is primarily designed for use from Ranorex Studio GUI. For advanced (command line-based) remote test distribution and execution is better to use a dedicated CI system, like for example Jenkins, Bamboo and others. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Roy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:49 am

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by Roy » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:57 am

Is it planned to add this Feature?
We are integrating Ranorex in our source Control and into the CI, but we don't want to run the Tests on the CI Server. Is there any other easy way to tell the Agent on an other virtual machine to run the Tests from the source Control Directory?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:00 pm

Hi everyone,

We were already in contact with Roy by email. Currently, there's no way to trigger the Ranorex Agent via command line, but there's an existing feature request on our User Voice Platform.

If anybody is interested in such a feature, please vote for this entry on the platform.

Thank you!

Johannes
.
Image