System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Bug reports.
tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Post by tallahassee101 » Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:02 pm

Between the update from 3.02 to 3.04 our team started experiencing a new very annoying issue with checking our recording files into subversion. It seems that there is an attribute type "System.Windows.Forms.AccessibleRole" and "System.Windows.Forms.AccessibleState" that save their version number to the recording files. Somehow our team has different versions of System.Windows.Forms even though we are all using Windows 7 with the same version of Ranorex (3.04).

It would be helpful if versions were not saved to the recording files, this seems to happen a lot with ranorex causing issues with our small team all trying to work in the same Ranorex project. It seems that some people have version 2.0.0.0 and some have version 4.0.0.0 of System.Windows.Forms.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Post by Ciege » Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:58 pm

Do your users have different versions of .NET installed?

System.Windows.Forms... is a .NET framework namespace not a Ranorex namespace. Therefore the versioning is not something controlled by Ranorex rather it is controlled by the version of .NET that is installed and referenced by your code.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:28 am

Hi,
It seems that some people have version 2.0.0.0 and some have version 4.0.0.0 of System.Windows.Forms.
Please check if all people use the same .Net Framework?
We have also released the new 3.0.5 which includes many bug fixes, please update to our new version.
The link to the new version:
New Ranorex 3.0.5
Here you can see all the bug fixes:
Release notes

Regards,
Markus
Support Team
.
Image

tomamiro
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:06 pm

Re: System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Post by tomamiro » Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:03 pm

How does Ranorex detect the version of System.Windows.Forms? I have two Windows 7 machines. They both have all the Windows Updates installed, and as far as I know they both have the latest version of .NET, but Ranorex thinks one has Version 2.0.0.0 and the other has Version 4.0.0.0 of System.Windows.Forms. It doesn't matter whether my Project's compile option is set to .NET 3.5 or 4.0. The recordings on one machine keep saying System.Windows.Forms Version="2.0.0.0".

I thought maybe Ranorex had been installed on that machine while it had .NET 2.0, so I removed and reinstalled Ranorex, but that didn't fix the problem.

I'm also having a problem with recorded actions that attempt to use Ctrl+A on a flash/flex text element and then do Key Sequence to replace the text with text defined in a variable. It inserts the new text without replacing the old text. Or I get a really strange letter "a" prepended in front of the new text. My hope is that by getting Ranorex to use System.Windows.Forms Version="4.0.0.0", the problem will go away, since it doesn't happen on the machine on which Ranorex detects System.Windows.Forms Version="4.0.0.0".

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Post by tallahassee101 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:19 pm

The issue we had was similar to what you are describing, one system says 2.0 and the other says 4.0. To fix the issue we installed the latest .NET framework on the system with 2.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=17718

toma
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: System.Windows.Forms causing diff issues

Post by toma » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:48 pm

Thank you very much. Installing .NET 4 Framework with the standalone installer fixed the problem. Now Ranorex is putting version="4.0.0.0" in the .rxrec files.