Table of content in PDF Report

Ask general questions here.
vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:50 am

Hi ,

I have converted Ranorex html report in , PDF format using Ranorex.PDF dll. The report got generated but table of content in the PDF document appears inappropriately. I executed 4 test cases and was expecting ,test cases name will appear in parallel in Table of content .But first test case is appearing as the main heading and other test cases are appearing inside it. When I go down in the document , I see a heading name "Unknown" on top of the test cases.

I wanted to share the PDF report here , but unable to attach it.

I have used the below code to zip the report and convert into PDF.

TestReport.SaveReport();
Report.Zip(TestReport.ReportEnvironment,ResultFolderPath+"\\ZipReport","BindingAuthority");
Ranorex.PDF.Creator.CreatePDF(ResultFolderPath+"\\ZipReport\\BindingAuthority.rxzlog",ResultFolderPath+"\\PDFReport\\VIBEPDFReport_"+timestamp, "C:\\Users\\ny102895\\Downloads\\style\\style.xml","all");

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by odklizec » Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:57 am

Hi,

Please post the source rxzlog file and pdf file, using a file sharing service (like One Drive, Drop Box, etc.). Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:48 am

Hi,

You can find the rxzlog and PDF file on the below one driver link:

https://1drv.ms/f/s!AmTj0-r5Wq3PbJ2njwRK-8sfqI0


Thanks,
Vivek

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:05 am

Hi odklizec,

Did you get a chance to look into the rxzlog and PDF file?

Thanks,
Vivek

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by odklizec » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:09 am

Hi,

I had only a brief chance to look at it. I agree that the PDF ToC looks weird. I think this must be a problem of the conversion stylesheet?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:34 am

I am using the standard one which have downloaded from Ranorex site. I have uploaded the same on One Drive - https://1drv.ms/f/s!AmTj0-r5Wq3PbDJ7Yq8rnoQpevM

please have a look.

Do you have any other conversion style sheet?

Thanks,
Vivek

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:30 am

Hi Odklizec

I observed that the problem is not only with Toc but the same issue exist in the content of PDF.
Please see the report here : https://1drv.ms/b/s!AmTj0-r5Wq3PckDwPTTly_RL0h8


Thanks,
Vivek

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:00 am

Hello Vivek,

It seems like you tried to convert a Ranorex 5.X. report:
ReportToPDF.png
ReportToPDF.png (16.41 KiB) Viewed 552 times
Please note, that the PDF conversion is supported since Ranorex 6.x.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:17 pm

Hi Robert,

I tried with Ranorex 7.0 but report was generated in the same way. Sharing report n few relevant file which i am using to generate the PDF report. Please have a look.

https://1drv.ms/f/s!AmTj0-r5Wq3Pc16fcYS6ghzf4DI


Thanks,
Vivek

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:53 pm

Hi Robert,

Did you get a chance to look into ?


Thanks,
Vivek

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by Support Team » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:28 am

Hi Vivek,

Thank you for updating Ranorex and uploading the new report. Unfortunately, it seems like the report wasn't finished correctly:
ReportTestInProgress.png
ReportTestInProgress.png (28.71 KiB) Viewed 460 times
Please ensure that the test finishes (no "Test in progress") and to convert the report afterwards.

I hope this helps.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

vivrai
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by vivrai » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:47 am

Thanks for your reply Robert.
I checked multiple times and the progress bar is never completed . I waited for an hour to get it completed however it didn't and PDF report didn't get generate. Finally I used the command prompt and give path of .exe ,style.xml path. This way I created the report but the problem is still same.
Report progress always shows report in progress while report was complete. I could see the complete status of test cases executed. As I mentioned above that I waited for an hour but the progress bar was still showing status as In Progress ,and of course PDF report didn't generate .Then what is the way of using this Ranorex feature to generate PDF reports.

Thanks,
Vivek

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by odklizec » Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:04 am

Hi Robert,

I'm experiencing the same problem with "Test In Progress" message in some of my tests. It appears to be caused by SaveReport() method. Here is a piece of code I'm using in Program.cs (just before return error; line)...

Code: Select all

	Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.EndTestCaseContainer();
	Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.SaveReport();
	string zipFileName = Ranorex.Core.Reporting.TestReport.ReportEnvironment.ReportZipFilePath;
	System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(zipFileName);
If I start the test from Studio, the report opened in Studio says "Test In Progress". The one opened by process.start does not display this message.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:39 am

Hi,

Do you setup your report on your own? Like you're not using the built-in report functionality from Ranorex Studio / test suite? It would be great to get a minimal example of a Ranorex solution producing a "non-finished" test report.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Table of content in PDF Report

Post by odklizec » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:53 am

Hi Robert,

Try the attached project. Basically, it's new (nearly empty) solution, the only change is added three lines of code in Program.cs. But I don't think that unfinished report is the cause of Vivek's problem?
Attachments
test_unfinished_report.zip
(12.92 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration