Task failed because "AxImp.exe" was not found when migrating code from Ranorex 5 to Ranorex 7 or Ranorex 8

Ask general questions here.
chiranthurs
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: Task failed because "AxImp.exe" was not found when migrating code from Ranorex 5 to Ranorex 7 or Ranorex 8

Post by chiranthurs » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:03 am

Hi Alex,

Since we are migrating all our scripts to the latest version of Ranorex 8.3 across all our VM's say (25 VM's) we will have to install visual studio 2010 on all these VM's and its a known fact that Visual studio 2010 comes with a licence and with an additional cost as we are already paying for the licence of Ranorex. Migration should not happen with these additional costs in my opinion.

Regards,
Chiranth

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Task failed because "AxImp.exe" was not found when migrating code from Ranorex 5 to Ranorex 7 or Ranorex 8

Post by odklizec » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:30 am

Hi,

Shouldn't installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable help with this issue? I don't have Visual Studio 2010 installed and everything works as expected? In fact, all I have from Visual Studio is Team Explorer 2013, which is free of charge. So the requirement of installing VS 2010 sounds a bit strange? There must be another way around this problem.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Task failed because "AxImp.exe" was not found when migrating code from Ranorex 5 to Ranorex 7 or Ranorex 8

Post by ahoisl » Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:40 am

chiranthurs wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:03 am
Migration should not happen with these additional costs in my opinion.
AxImp.exe was never a part of Ranorex Studio, so you apparently already had a dependency on Visual Studio or the corresponding SDK before.

My guess is that due to the upgrade, the .NET Framework version that the scripts are compiled to changed and consequently you need a newer SDK containing a newer version of AxImp to compile your project.

An alternative to installing VS or the SDK on every machine, is investigating what AxImp is actually needed for. AFAIK it just creates a managed wrapper DLL for a native DLL. If so, you could check that managed DLL into your source control repository and just use that DLL instead of creating the managed wrapper again on every build.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team