Test a website on a mobile device, without RXBrowser?

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: Test a website on a mobile device, without RXBrowser?

Post by gilbar16 » Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:38 pm

krstcs,

How do you know which User Agent is running?
When Ranorex starts Firefox and the URL you specified to open, the URL is displayed but no indication at all for which User Agent is selected and running.

Do you have to select the User Agent each time you start Firefox?

Maybe I'm just not seeing the whole things from User Agent Switcher yet since I'm kind of waiting for our Security Team and Collaboration team to give me local Admin Rights on my PC. I can't even install the Ranorex Extension/Add-on for Google Chrome, due to missing local Admin Rights, so I could check out the Chrome version of User Agent Switcher.

Thanks.
Gilbert

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Test a website on a mobile device, without RXBrowser?

Post by krstcs » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:12 pm

Yeah, you would have to select the User Agent every time you restart, I believe. But if you create your tests correctly, that should not be a big deal. You can even data-drive it so that the test data decides which UA to select every time.

I'm not sure that is shows you what UA is currently being used, but you could use a packet sniffer like Fiddler to inspect the requests on you system if you are concerned about it.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: Test a website on a mobile device, without RXBrowser?

Post by gilbar16 » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:23 pm

krstcs,

Thanks again.
Yes, the Chrome version of User Agent Switcher, do display the agent you currently selected. I just could not try Ranorex on it yet until I get a local Admin Rights to my PC. (something I've had for awhile but somebody decided to take it away from me, I guess, when QA bosses have changed)

Also, the list of User Agents is not really up-to-date. iPhone iOS is only up to version 8.4, for example, when we are supposed to test 9.0.2 and 9.1 versions as well.
I guess I have to search the internet for the new devices descriptiion/properties and see if is easy enough to add new User Agents for the new devices.

Regards,
Gilbert

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Test a website on a mobile device, without RXBrowser?

Post by krstcs » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:25 pm

Yeah, you should be able to find the information about any missing UAs online.

Hope it helps! Good luck!
Shortcuts usually aren't...

gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: Test a website on a mobile device, without RXBrowser?

Post by gilbar16 » Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:58 pm

Yes, I found this thing they call complete list and imported it to the Firefox UAS Add-on so it gave me a lot more User Agents to choose from.

One of our main pages won't load in Firefox (gets stuck on Loading...) so I'll have to continue checking out User Agent Switcher using the Google Chrome version since the same page loads successfully here.