Test -recording or -execution by customer for bug tracking

Ask general questions here.
Samuel
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:50 am
Location: Germany (BW)

Test -recording or -execution by customer for bug tracking

Post by Samuel » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:42 am

Hello,

I was wondering, if there are possibilities to embed Ranorex functionality in products, in order to help the developers to analyse bugs found by customers.

Something that would allow the customer to record the steps he performed and send us the recording to give us insight into what the user did and possibly what the properties of the application were at the time the error occured would be ideal.

Kind regards
Samuel

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Test -recording or -execution by customer for bug tracking

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:05 pm

Hello Samuel,

Unfortunately, it's not possible to embed Ranorex functionality in this way.
The customer would need to install Ranorex Studio to use the Recorder to record the performed steps.

You could use for example the Windows 7 tool 'Problem Steps Recorder' to record steps what the user did.
Please take a look at this overview from Microsoft Technet.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

Samuel
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:50 am
Location: Germany (BW)

Re: Test -recording or -execution by customer for bug tracking

Post by Samuel » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:17 pm

Thank you for your reply. PSR is indeed a neat and easy to use tool especially for minor bugs or problems related to operating errors.
Being able to get insight into all the exposed properties of an application however, would have been a great benefit for the realy difficult problems and those hard to reproduce.

I know that such a functionality exists in at least one other testing tool.
Maybe it would be prossible to provide recording functionality if the created recording couldn´t be opened or modified on any machine without a valid licence?
Well, anyways, I guess It´d be at least a usefull feature request.

Thanks again for the info
Samuel