Test Runner is just highlighting inAX dynamics 2012 fields(waiting to perform manually) instead of executing by itself.

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Nagesh
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:44 am

Test Runner is just highlighting inAX dynamics 2012 fields(waiting to perform manually) instead of executing by itself.

Post by Nagesh » Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:55 am

Hi,

We are using one internally developed tool for AX dynamics 2012 to automate the test cases and run.

To run those created cases automatically, we are using Test runner tool.

Now the issue is after starting execution according to the steps, it is just highlighting the field(waiting to perform manually by tester) in my remote machine instead of performing the step by itself. But in other remote machines it is executing successfully by itself.


What would be the problem here? Kindly suggest


Thanks,
Nagesh

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Test Runner is just highlighting inAX dynamics 2012 fields(waiting to perform manually) instead of executing by its

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:38 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, there is not enough information in your post to provide a reasonable answer. Please, answer the below questions:

Ranorex version?
OS version on working and non-working machine?
Have you tried to debug the test in Ranorex Studio (on the non-working machine)?
What exactly do you mean with this... We are using one internally developed tool for AX dynamics 2012 to automate the test cases and run The tests are developed in something else than Ranorex?
What exactly do you mean that the test "just highlighting the field"?
Is there thrown any error message if you keep the test running? (like the element not found or similar)
Could you please provide a snapshot (NOT screenshot!) of the problematic element, taken both on working and non-working machine?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Nagesh
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:44 am

Re: Test Runner is just highlighting inAX dynamics 2012 fields(waiting to perform manually) instead of executing by its

Post by Nagesh » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:59 am

HI Odklizec,

please refer anwsers inline.

Ranorex version?
No,We are not using Ranorex, We are using our internal tool TAC(Test Acceleration Centre)

OS version on working and non-working machine?
Windows 7 and Windows 7

Have you tried to debug the test in Ranorex Studio (on the non-working machine)?
No

What exactly do you mean with this... We are using one internally developed tool for AX dynamics 2012 to automate the test cases and run The tests are developed in something else than Ranorex?
Yes, We have an internally developed tool for automation

What exactly do you mean that the test "just highlighting the field"?
We are using Test runner app for TAC to run the cases , while executing the steps, it should highlight the field in AX and click it, but it is waiting for manual users to click it.
Is there thrown any error message if you keep the test running? (like the element not found or similar)
No, It is just waiting for us to click.
Could you please provide a snapshot (NOT screenshot!) of the problematic element, taken both on working and non-working machine?
2018-10-16_164803.png
2018-10-16_164803.png (69.06 KiB) Viewed 29 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Test Runner is just highlighting inAX dynamics 2012 fields(waiting to perform manually) instead of executing by its

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:03 am

Hi,

If you are not using Ranorex, then I'm somehow confused, why you are asking for help on Ranorex-related forum? :D I'm afraid, there is nothing anyone here can do for you, especially if you are using a custom-built tool? ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration