test runner

Ask general questions here.
yinghu
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:48 pm

test runner

Post by yinghu » Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:25 am

Hi folks,

I know Ranorex has test runner. I am wondering if Ranorex also has web-based test runner?

Thanks.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: test runner

Post by Ciege » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:23 pm

A test runner? Can you be a little more clear on what you are asking?
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

yinghu
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:48 pm

Re: test runner

Post by yinghu » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:16 pm

Thank you for your quick reply! The full name is called Ranorex Test Suite Runner which we are using to manage and run our compiled test projects without using Ranorex Studio. It is a GUI application. The interface is like when you open the .rxtst file in Ranorex Studio.

I mean, if Ranorex provide web-based version Ranorex Test Suite Runner, that will be much more convenient
for us.
Ciege wrote:A test runner? Can you be a little more clear on what you are asking?

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: test runner

Post by Ciege » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:34 pm

Ah, OK...
I'm afraid I don't use the Ranorex IDE so have never tried the "test suite runner"...

Why would a web based version be more convenient for you? You would still need a license on the machine that you are running on. And if that license is able to use the IDE, that would probably be the best way to go... Once the script is compiled you can move the resulting .exe and required files to any (licensed) machine you want to run on.

That being said, What I have done here is created my own Launcher that will connect to my Premium licensed machine, compile the scripts, copy the needed files (.exe, etc...) locally to my Runtime licensed machines and execute.

It shouldn't be very difficult to write your own launcher (batch file based, web based, etc...) so long as you understand where the tests can be run and what needs to be copied to the machines that you want to run the tests on.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

yinghu
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:48 pm

Re: test runner

Post by yinghu » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:52 pm

Thanks Ciege!

I got it. Yes, my colleague says if we get a web based version then we don't need to remote to or reach the runner machine all the time. And we can initiate the executable tests through web. I also think it is not difficult for them to build it themselves but they don't want to spent time on it. Just want to buy it if Ranorex has.

Thanks!

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: test runner

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:45 pm

Hello,

We won't provide a web-based Test Suite Runner to execute your tests remotely.

We recommend to use a Continuous Integration Tool to manage your tests on different machines.
Please take a look at our blog.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

yinghu
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:48 pm

Re: test runner

Post by yinghu » Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:38 pm

Thanks Markus. That's a big help!

Support Team wrote:Hello,

We won't provide a web-based Test Suite Runner to execute your tests remotely.

We recommend to use a Continuous Integration Tool to manage your tests on different machines.
Please take a look at our blog.

Regards,
Markus (T)