Test Suite / Test Run Management on TeamCity

Ask general questions here.
Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Test Suite / Test Run Management on TeamCity

Post by Fergal » Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:32 pm

I have a Test Suite that looks something like this:

Code: Select all

- TC1
- TC2
- TC3
- Parent TC
   - - Child TC1
   - - Child TC2
   - - Child TC3
The test run is run regularly on TeamCity. If the test suite is run at certain times, we don't want to run the Parent TC or its Child TCs.

E.g. when the test suite is run at 9pm all TCs should run, but when it is run at 9am the Parent TC and its Child TCs should not run.

Is there a way to achieve that within the Ranorex solution?

Thanks!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Test Suite / Test Run Management on TeamCity

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:57 pm

Hi,

In my opinion, the easiest way to achieve what you want is to define two (multiple) Run Configurations. One with all enabled TCs, the other one with disabled Parent TC. Then you have to define a job in TeamCity (sorry, I can't help you with this, I'm a Jenkins guy ;)), where you define when to run your test with "all" run configuration and when to run test with "disabled parent" run config. A "Run Configuration" can be defined in a command line using /rc: parameter, like this...
YourTest.exe /rc:RunConfigName
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Test Suite / Test Run Management on TeamCity

Post by Fergal » Thu Aug 03, 2017 4:38 pm

Thanks for your helpful reply odklizec. I'm not sure how to do that in TeamCity. Hence, was trying to find a way to do it in Ranorex. If I don't get it done in Ranorex, will research how to do it as per your suggestion.

Thanks again.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Test Suite / Test Run Management on TeamCity

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:45 pm

Well, while I'm sure it can be done with some code in Ranorex solution a much better (and proper) way would be doing it with TC job. Doing it within Ranorex project means you will have to maintain another piece of code (which may eventually fail).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration