TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
mattmccall
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by mattmccall » Tue Mar 24, 2020 2:10 pm

I am seeing a problem running my tests in a nightly run.

We have a process that logins into a vm and executes our test suite through the command line. I frequently get a popup saying the the TestExecMonitor has stop working. Its not every test, and its not the same tests every night.

When I login and use the suite or command line I don't get this error at all.

Has anyone seen this before? Or have an idea why it happens?
testexecmonitor.PNG
testexecmonitor.PNG (41.12 KiB) Viewed 123 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:13 pm

Hi,

Does this happens only recently (let's say a week or so) or it happened also before? Also, are you, by any chance, using Windows Server 2012 R2?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mattmccall
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by mattmccall » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:27 pm

I am on Windows Server 2016 Standard, and it started happening a couple weeks ago, and of course its intermittent so it won't happen and then it will. It happened with Ranorex 9.2.1 and 9.3.0

We run them on multiple machines, it wasn't happening on one and now its happening on both. Both machines are Windows Server 2016

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:10 pm

Hi,

Could you please check what Windows updates were recently installed on the machine, which worked OK and now it fails? Also, please examine Ranorex logs (C:\Users\username\Documents\Ranorex\Logs) and try to find a log related to your app. Then in this log please search memory/excel data connector related exceptions and post them here.

I'm asking all these questions regarding Windows Server, because I've experienced a similar issue recently and so far it looks like a Windows update issue. There were two updates installed on my failing machine - Flash security update (no update number) and a Win Server 2012 R2 update (KB4537803). After uninstalling both updates, tests are running as before! So my guess is, that there are similar updates installed also on your machine(s)?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mattmccall
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by mattmccall » Tue Mar 24, 2020 6:28 pm

I checked all the logs and there are no Excel connector exceptions. I don't use Excel connectors so not surprised on my side. There aren't any errors or exceptions in the logs even close to the time of the error I am seeing either.

I checked the updates on the machine and as you can see the last two are quite old. This issue is newer than that last update.
updates.PNG
updates.PNG (8.28 KiB) Viewed 112 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by odklizec » Tue Mar 24, 2020 6:51 pm

Hi,

OK, it's something else then? I'm afraid, this kind of issue would require contacting support and analysis of the problem directly on the affected machines?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

mattmccall
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: TestExecMonitor hs stopped working

Post by mattmccall » Tue Mar 24, 2020 6:57 pm

That was my thought too, just posted here to see if anyone had seen the same issue.

Thanks for taking time to help.