Testrail integration fails: value cannot be null

Bug reports.
SanMan
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Testrail integration fails: value cannot be null

Post by SanMan » Tue May 29, 2018 10:56 am

Got this error when trying to sync:
Attachments
testrailint.PNG
testrailint.PNG (22.18 KiB) Viewed 204 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Testrail integration fails: value cannot be null

Post by Support Team » Tue May 29, 2018 9:32 pm

Hello SanMan,

I'm sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue with the TestRail integration. I was able to reproduce your issue with the below steps:

[1] Open your Ranorex solution and connect to TestRail via the wizard (Tools -> TestRail integration -> Start TestRail wizard)
[2] Delete the Test Suite in TestRail
[3] Add a new item to your Test Suite in Ranorex Studio (a new test case for example so that there is something new to sync)
[4] Run the wizard again to export OR sync the changes and you should receive the error message you are reporting

After this I disconnected my solution from TestRail (In Ranorex Studio -> Tools -> TestRail integration -> Remove connection to TestRail) and then started the wizard from the beginning (Tools -> TestRail integration -> Start TestRail wizard). Please know this will create a new project in TestRail!

So first and foremost I would definitely log into your TestRail instance and check to see if the Test Suite (visible on the Project overview page in TestRail at the bottom) was removed by mistake. Our team is currently aware of this issue when performing the above steps and is working on a fix, but if there is anything different on your end please let me know!

Please let me know if you had a different experience or if you have a question and as I would be more than happy to help!

I hope this helps and I look forward to hearing from you!

Regards,

-Jon
.
Image

SanMan
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:59 am

Re: Testrail integration fails: value cannot be null

Post by SanMan » Wed May 30, 2018 6:39 am

Hi Jon,

I can find the Test Suite in Project overview page.

"Our team is currently aware of this issue when performing the above steps and is working on a fix"
=> I can wait for this fix

Sincerely,

SanMan

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Testrail integration fails: value cannot be null

Post by Support Team » Wed May 30, 2018 10:37 pm

Hi SanMan,

Thank you for the reply.

Since it sounds like your scenario may differ slightly, would you mind creating a support request so that I may take a closer look at your environment? This may be something I can assist you in resolving but I also want to ensure this isn't a different bug from the workflow I mentioned. If needed, you may find a link to our support query below:

https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/

Just reference this post in your query and I'll be happy to continue assisting you!

Regards,

-Jon
.
Image