Tests run from Azure DevOps not starting apps on VM

Ask general questions here.
Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Tests run from Azure DevOps not starting apps on VM

Post by Fergal » Thu Feb 06, 2020 6:26 pm

odklizec wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:58 pm
Just make sure the test is started with the same user session/credentials.
Thanks odklizec, I think I understand what is happening now. The agent was installed by a different Windows account, and when my account is logged into the VM, that is causing an issue. When I am not logged into the VM, no one else is logged in either and the UI tests will not run. Will try to get that resolved.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5935
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Tests run from Azure DevOps not starting apps on VM

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 06, 2020 6:41 pm

Hi,

Good to hear you figured it out! 😉
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Tests run from Azure DevOps not starting apps on VM

Post by Fergal » Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:45 pm

Thanks odklizec, still have to get those tests running successfully :)

On a related issue, does the VM where the tests are run need access to a physical monitor / computer screen?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5935
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Tests run from Azure DevOps not starting apps on VM

Post by odklizec » Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:03 pm

Hi,

Nope, physical screen is not really required. Just logged-in user and active session.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration