Tests run very slowly

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:17 pm

Whenever the tests run on my android device..they are extremely slow (and sometimes embarrassing to show to someone). How can I make them quicker/faster when they run ?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:00 pm

Hello Styris,

Which version of Ranorex are you using? In our current version you can disable the "Enable Web Testing" setting within the Instrumentation Wizard if this is not needed for your test.
RanorexInstrumentationWizard.png
RanorexInstrumentationWizard.png (24.27 KiB) Viewed 1571 times
Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:21 am

how to get to this wizard screen ?

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:47 am

In this case I have already created the tests so is it even possible to go back to that window and change them. If so..could you please list down the Exact Steps ?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:07 pm

Hi Styris,

Please open the "Manage Devices" dialog and select "Deploy App".
ManageDevices.png
ManageDevices.png (14.5 KiB) Viewed 1532 times
After that, you have to open the settings dialog in the "Instrumentation Wizard"
RXInstrumentationWizard.png
RXInstrumentationWizard.png (35.95 KiB) Viewed 1532 times
Depending on your Ranorex version you will find the setting "Enable Web Testing" as shown in the image in my previous post.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

cgautier
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:29 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by cgautier » Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:15 pm

Hello,

in our company, we encounter an issue when launching our test on Android with embedded application.
on iOS, we do not have the same problem!

the execution for each "touch" action take 1 minute and 5 seconds.
it seems Ranorex parses all the objects before finding the good object

our repo is builded as below :
the app => Full path
homepage => relative path
object_A (which we try to Touch) => relative path

according to our team, this use of relative paths is very pratical to make the maintenance very easy by using relative path.

we make an object with a full path and the touch seems to be faster but the maintenance will be very painfull because each object will need a maintenance.

Could you give us a feedback or give a best practice about the use of relative paths?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 11, 2015 3:11 pm

Hi Cedric,

May I ask you if you can update this posting after trying the approach we discussed today?

Thank you.
Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Thu Mar 12, 2015 3:37 am

Markus,

I have problem with tests running extremely slowly on my Android device as well. Can you paste/say your approach here? Or schedule a session with me around it ?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 13, 2015 1:28 pm

Hi Styris,

Have you already tried the approach that my colleague has posted above? click me

If you are still facing issues, I may ask you to upload your apk file.
This helps us analyzing the issue on our side.
Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:02 pm

well I already went past that stage when I asked the question..so that wizard cannot be effective afterwards, right ?

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:55 pm

Also I was wondering more about the approach you mentioned you discussed with Cedric. It could be that my problem is similar.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 16, 2015 3:34 pm

Hi Styris,

If you change the setting in the wizard, you need to instrument and deploy the application under test again.

The approaches discussed with Cedric were basically the same as described in these postings here.

If you are still facing issues, please send the apk file to [email protected]
I'll analyze the issue directly on my machine.

Thank you.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:05 pm

Markus,


Here I am trying to work with an iOS device and then if I do the same thing you did (click on Settings) I do not get the same dialogue box as you. (See attachment please)
Attachments
fst.PNG
fst.PNG (31.94 KiB) Viewed 1439 times

Styris
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:32 am

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Styris » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:56 pm

So that window that you had actually never showed up for me for iOS.

We have a major painpoint of tests running slowly...and that could be the make or break for us here for what we do. Would really appreciate a solution to it.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run very slowly

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:40 pm

Hi Styris,

Sorry for the confusion. The problem I've discussed with Cedric was about an Android application.

In order to analyze your problem in detail I'd need either the un-instrumented IPA file or the XCode project of your application.

May I ask you to send the file to [email protected]?

This allows us to reproduce the issue directly on our machine.
Please also let me know which Ranorex version and which connection type you are using.

Thank you,

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image