Tests run with Remote Agent can't find objects.

Bug reports.
brandon.sim
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 3:02 pm

Tests run with Remote Agent can't find objects.

Post by brandon.sim » Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:00 pm

Current environment:
Windows 10 Pro desktop with Ranorex Studio running with a VNC connection to another Windows 10 Pro desktop with Ranorex Remote Agent.
Ranorex version 8.1.0
Remote Agent version 3.0.3

Problem did not seem to exist in previous version Ranorex 8.0.1 with Agent 3.0.3.

Description:
Running a test remotely with the Ranorex remote agent fails.
Remote test is unable to find any /dom or /form.
For example, when Validating if /dom[@domain<'salesforce.com'] exists and the current domain name in Chrome is test.salesforce.com.
The test does not fail when the test suite is run locally, all objects can be found and validated.

Reinstallation of the Remote Agent has been attempted.
Reinstallation of the Chrome extension has been attempted.
Attempting to run Remote Agent with Windows Remote Desktop also does not work.
Attachments
Capture1.PNG
Repo object to find.
Capture1.PNG (3.31 KiB) Viewed 237 times
Capture.PNG
Chrome instance
Capture.PNG (74.77 KiB) Viewed 237 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Tests run with Remote Agent can't find objects.

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:29 pm

Hi Brandon,

Try the following: add a new code module at the very start of your test with the following line and run it through the Ranorex Remote Agent.

Code: Select all

Report.Snapshot("/");
This will create a Ranorex Snapshot of your entire machine showing us exactly what Ranorex is seeing at this point and time. In addition to this, run the same module through Ranorex Studio on the same machine to produce a good Snapshot to compare against. Once completed, please send these Ranorex Snapshots so we can further investigate.

I look forward to your response!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

brandon.sim
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 3:02 pm

Re: Tests run with Remote Agent can't find objects.

Post by brandon.sim » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:31 pm

Hey Ned,

I'm not quite sure how this worked but as I was pulling these snapshots I re-installed Ranorex on my local and remote machines and the test seems to be running fine on both now.

Thanks for your help!