Text based selection from dropdown

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
sravanimandadi
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:51 pm

Text based selection from dropdown

Post by sravanimandadi » Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:46 am

Hi,

In our application there is a dropdown where I need to select one from 40 items. When I am recording the selected an item of the dropdown was stored on location based. Before playing there was a change in the order of the items. When I started playing the recording as the selected item got changed the test case failed.

Is it possible with ranorex to select the item of the dropdown on text based?

Please suggest...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Text based selection from dropdown

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:40 am

Hi,

To be able to help you, we need a bit more details about your AUT.

Is there created a repository item for the selected dropdown item (during recording)?
Are you able to track the item you want to select (using the Ranorex Spy)?
Can you post the Ranorex snapshost of dropdown element?

Especially the Ranorex snapshot of dropdown in question would be very helpful (here is how to create snapshot: http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... files.html).

Basically, Ranorex is exactly the tool which should help you to do what you want, i.e. select the dropdown item regardless of dropdown content order. There could be two problems why it may not work for you.

First, the element you want to select is not in the visible area of the dropdown (which means you need to scroll up/down to make it visible). This can be overcome by using InvokeAction, instead of Mouse click action. See for example this tutorial:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c4066

Or worse, the individual elements in dropdown could not be tracked by Ranorex (recorder/spy), because the dropdown has most probably no or incorrectly implemented accessibility. In this case, your only hope is using GDI RAW texts, which is not particularly easy and always working solution.

As mentioned above, the snasphot of your dropdown would help a lot to understand your problem ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

sravanimandadi
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:51 pm

Re: Text based selection from dropdown

Post by sravanimandadi » Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:29 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your response... My problem got solved..