Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Bug reports.
usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:34 pm

Good afternoon!
This problem becomes very important for testing our application!
Please answer at least the timing of its correction

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11775
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:53 pm

Hello usov,

I completely understand how important this is for your testing needs! That is why I am excited to inform you that the needed fix has already been completed and will be included within our Ranorex 8.2.1 release. Ranorex 8.2.1 is planned to be released within the next few weeks so please be on the lookout! Please note that this timeframe is not guaranteed and can change due to unanticipated circumstances.

Our release notes may be found here:
https://www.ranorex.com/release-notes/

I hope this helps!

Regards,

Jon
.
Image

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:14 am

Good afternoon!
Today I installed 8.2.1, but the problem remained ... = (

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11775
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:45 am

Hi usov,

Thank you for the update. I'm sorry to hear you are still experiencing the issue.

We are currently investigating the issue further so I may reach out to you through your support ticket if needed.

Thank you for your patience!

Regards,

Jon
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11775
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:06 pm

Hi usov,

Thank you for your patience!

It appears there was some confusion on which release contained the fix and for that, I apologize. I have reached out to you directly via email as we would like to have you try a beta version of Ranorex 8.3 which contains the fix. I have also included a snapshot of the provided sample which was created using the Ranorex 8.3 beta:
beta_snapshot.rxsnp
(26.85 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
I look forward to hearing from you!

Regards,

Jon
.
Image

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:51 am

Hello!
I checked my problem areas, and Beta fixed the problem!
Many thanks !
I'm looking forward to the release of Ranorex 8.3!

EugeneMkv
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by EugeneMkv » Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:05 pm

Hi, All, we got the same issue.
And the problem is still there on 8.3.0+git.994387e4 (please see an attachment)
Attachments
picturemessage_hzhl4cuj.5xp.png
picturemessage_hzhl4cuj.5xp.png (101.05 KiB) Viewed 101 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4424
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:15 pm

Hi,

At first, the most recent Ranorex version is 8.3.2. Please try to uninstall 8.3.0 and then install 8.3.2. Then try to reproduce your problem. If the problem still happens in 8.3.2, please upload a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic element.

While the issue may look the same, as discussed in previous posts, it could be something completely different ;) And without, at very least, Ranorex snapshot, there is unfortunately nothing anyone here can do or suggest. Screenshot of the problem is unfortunately not useful at all. Thanks.

BTW, from the screenshot it seems as the element is WPF-based (original post is about QT-based element!)? What's your actual WPF plugin setting? If the problem happens with WPFImprovedOnly, try also other settings (WPFPreferred or UIA Preferred). However, the best results you should get with WPFImprovedOnly.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

EugeneMkv
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by EugeneMkv » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:17 pm

Hi odklizec ,

Upgrading to the latest version didn't help.
Please see the snapshot in attachment.
And this is a blocker for automation team. (

As for the setting, we have now WPFImprovedOnly set (by default). And we'd like not to change it, because a huge part of the automation is already complete and changes in XPaths is not an option.

And I've asked developers about a technology - this is devexpress wpf controls.
Attachments
Cell.rxsnp
(1.81 MiB) Downloaded 31 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4424
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:25 pm

Hi,

Now I see the element is a part of DevExpress grid. Unfortunately, DevExpress controls are notoriously known for missing/not revealed/inaccessible attributes.

At first, have you tried WPFImproved/UIAOnly setting? Snapshot shows your current setting is WPFOnly. If neither setting helps, your only (immediate) hope is most probably GDI Capture approach (check Ranorex user guide).

Another thing you might try is to contact Ranorex support for help. It could be a bug in Ranorex, but I rather think it's just DevExpress way of (not) implementing attributes?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

EugeneMkv
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by EugeneMkv » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:30 pm

Also I'd like to add that Inspect tool detects these Cell values.

EugeneMkv
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by EugeneMkv » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:38 pm

odklizec wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:25 pm
Snapshot shows your current setting is WPFOnly.
No it is not!
Attachments
Снимок.JPG
Снимок.JPG (199.62 KiB) Viewed 69 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 4424
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:48 pm

Oh, if Inspect shows this value, then it’s most probably a Ranorex issue. I would suggest to contact directly Ranorex Support.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration