Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Bug reports.
usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:09 am

From the question https://www.ranorex.com/forum/how-to-ge ... 11648.html

It seems the Text property is not displayed in Ranorex if a cell's DispalyRole returns a non-standard QVariant with UserType in it. According to our developers, the table uses default QStyledItemDelegate with displayText() method that calls QVariant::toString() converter. The convertor has been explicitly registred by calling QMetaType::registerConverter<CustomMetaType, QString>. AccessibleName property in legacy mode looks good for such custom types, but not the Text one. It's only displayed for standard QVariants (e.g. QString).

User avatar
Vega
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Vega » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:33 pm

A Ranorex snapshot would be really helpful if you are able to supply one; that way we can take a detailed look at the application as a whole. I did not see one in the thread you linked, but please correct me if I missed it.

Have you tried using GDI? GDI will read the Raw Text from the object. You should be able to add your process to the GDI watch list and keep your working QT plugin settings:

https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/tec ... plications

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:33 am

No action "Add class name to GDI capture List" - screen.png
Attached snapshot - snapshot.rxsnp
Attachments
snapshot.rxsnp
(377.86 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
screen.png
screen.png (389.61 KiB) Viewed 980 times

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:16 pm

Can this help to understand the problem? - https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ab6MEZ ... p=drivesdk
In the column "Has text property" we get the text, and in the column "Text is empty" - the text does not work - new.png
Attachments
new.png
new.png (640.88 KiB) Viewed 961 times

User avatar
Vega
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Vega » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:21 pm

Hi, you should be able to add the process name to the GDI watchlist like so:
gdi.png
gdi.png (16.63 KiB) Viewed 953 times
If that does not work, you can try to change your QT plugin settings to legacy (WARNING: This may affect your existing paths for QT objects!):
qt.png
qt.png (11.73 KiB) Viewed 953 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:37 pm

Hi Vega,

We already discussed this problem here...
https://www.ranorex.com/forum/how-to-ge ... 11648.html

Using QT Legacy mode partially helps, except it changes all xpaths and some elements now provide much less details or they are entirely missing (e.g. missing table rows), so this is probably not the best option for him? And the thing is, that MS Inspect tool seems show both Name and LegacyIAccessible.Name, so it appears to be a bug in Ranorex?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:19 pm

So our developer and made a simple application that reproduces the situation to provide the source code of the program https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ab6MEZ ... p=drivesdk

User avatar
Vega
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Vega » Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:28 pm

My apologies for not doing my due diligence; I think I got a little trigger happy. Thanks for pointing that out odklizec! If it is a bug then it would be out of our hands for now as Ranorex analyzes the issue.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:03 pm

Hello,

We are currently investigating this bug report and will provide feedback as soon as possible.

Thank you for your patience!

-Jon
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:21 pm

Hi usov,

I would like to continue troubleshooting this via a support ticket if possible as we may need to schedule a session. Please create a query at the below link and reference this post within the query:

https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/

Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns!

-Jon
.
Image

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:57 am

I created the query

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:11 pm

Hello all,

We are currently investigating the issue and working with the customer. I will provide an update here when applicable.

Thanks!

-Jon
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:11 pm

Hello all,

So far this is looking like a bug and has been submitted to development for further analysis. At this time I am unable to provide any further information regarding timeframe.

I hope this helps and thank you for your patience!

-Jon
.
Image

usov
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 am

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by usov » Mon May 28, 2018 3:29 pm

Hello!
Almost 3 months passed.
Is there any information about fixing this error?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Text property is not displayed in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Tue May 29, 2018 10:02 pm

Hello Usov,

Your issue is actively being worked on by our development team and at this time I do not have any further information regarding timeframe or target release version at this time. Your original support ticket was placed in a special status so that we may inform you of any updates as soon as possible. If there have been any new developments on your end please let me know!

Thank you for your patience!

Regards,
-Jon
.
Image