TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Bug reports.
[email protected]
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:55 am

TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by [email protected] » Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:07 am

I have ranorex 5.3.1 version. It took 45 min yesterday to load ranorex and get latest. Overall I have to spend 30-45 min(sometimes 1hrs) everyday for load ranorex and getting latest. Same case with check in my changes as well.
Please help it's urgent and effecting my daily office work.
I have tried it on Windows7/8.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:10 am

Hi,

How big (approximately) is your solution (both size and number of TCs/modules)?

At first, try to uncheck the below mentioned options...

Go to menu Tools >> Options:
Tools >> TFS Options >> "Enable file state modified check"
Tools_Options_1.png
Tools_Options_1.png (19.8 KiB) Viewed 1442 times
Tools >> Ranorex Code Generation >> "Automatically update and synchronize code for..."
Tools_Options_2.png
Tools_Options_2.png (26.37 KiB) Viewed 1442 times
Hope this helps with startup speed?

BTW, are you experiencing also some other slowdowns while working with an already opened solution? Your problem reminds me a TFS slowdown/freeze issues I'm experiencing with my project. I posted about it > here <.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

[email protected]
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:55 am

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by [email protected] » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:27 pm

Thanks for suggesting options. However, check-in my changes still taking approx 25 mins today.

[email protected]
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:55 am

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by [email protected] » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:28 pm

Project Size is: 225 MB
Total number of modules: 1200 approx

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:09 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your feedback. It's what I expected and it completely supports my theory that the size/number of modules have an impact on Ranorex performance in case of TFS-based projects. There is definitely something wrong with TFS integration with Ranorex. I'm sorry for your problems, but I'm glad I'm not alone having this kind of problem with TFS.

There is one thing you can try and which helped me. But it's very crude workaround! Once the project files appear to be loaded in Ranorex, simply disconnect your computer from network :D After a sec or two, you should receive a TFS-related error message. Once confirmed, there appears another one and so on. It seems the number of messages is close or equal the number of files checked in TFS. So the only reasonable way to discard all error messages is to press and hold ESC until all messages disappear. It may take some time in your case, but I guess it will be much faster than waiting 25 mins ;)

Slightly less aggressive approach (not involving disconnecting computer from network) is to press and hold "ESC" right after the project files appear to be loaded in IDE. But since there are no error messages issued, it's hard to say how long you should hold the ESC.

BTW, are you experiencing Ranorex IDE freezes after you add new module or for example rename existing one? It does not happen each time, but it happens rather frequently and makes the working with TFS project very annoying.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:38 pm

Hi all,

Just to keep you up-to-date.
I’m currently in contact with Lokesh by email.

Generally, we would need the following points to analyze this issue on our side.
  • The internal log file, which can be enabled by setting the options as shown in the screenshot below
    Enable_Logging.png
    Enable_Logging.png (24.2 KiB) Viewed 1410 times
  • The Ranorex Solution itself.
    The Solution will help us reproducing the issue on our side.
Thank you.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by odklizec » Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:44 am

Hi Markus,

In my case, all I can see in log (during freeze period) are below lines:
2015-04-14 12:36:01.3765|DEBUG|Ranorex.Core.DualModeNetFactory|Will create dual mode TCP client.
2015-04-14 12:37:01.3865|DEBUG|Ranorex.Core.DualModeNetFactory|Will create dual mode TCP client.
2015-04-14 12:38:01.3975|DEBUG|Ranorex.Core.DualModeNetFactory|Will create dual mode TCP client.
I guess it will be the same for Lokesh? There seems to be nothing TFS-related in trace file. Maybe we need a special Ranorex build with some "source control" related trace outputs?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

[email protected]
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:55 am

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by [email protected] » Tue Apr 14, 2015 3:18 pm

@ Markus,

As suggested, I have same log settings available. Same will be sent to you via mail.

[email protected]
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:55 am

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by [email protected] » Tue Apr 14, 2015 3:22 pm

Hi odklizec,

I have exactly same issue on my machine what you were talking about on below issue. Remember that my TFS and Ranorex server both are located at onsite location. And team members over there are not facing any issue related to loading.

"
BTW, are you experiencing Ranorex IDE freezes after you add new module or for example rename existing one? It does not happen each time, but it happens rather frequently and makes the working with TFS project very annoying. "

JimLin
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:23 pm

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by JimLin » Mon May 11, 2015 4:58 pm

Hi. Having got fed up with how long my solution was taking to load from source control, I came across this thread and followed its recommendations. I thought adding my experiences to the thread might be useful.

We use Visual Studio Online (TFS) as our source control. My solution contains 8 separate projects, about 80 tests, but several hundred modules. We are currently using Ranorex v5.2.0.

Before the changes, it took about 10 minutes for the solution to load and become usable, as it could still take a few mins after the project had loaded before the screens unfroze.

After deselecting the options suggested, the solution would load and become usable after about 35 seconds.

I then reselected the options and the project still loads a lot quicker and is now taking about 3 mins, 40 seconds to load and become usable. It might be interesting to know why deselecting and then reselecting the options seems to have speeded things up a bit.

I think I will leave the options unticked, as 35 secs to load a solution is more than acceptable.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: TFS projects are taking long time to load in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Mon May 18, 2015 12:38 pm

Hi James,

Thank you for sharing your experience about this issue.

Concerning the loading time
May I ask you to get in touch with us by email? We'd like to analyze the time difference directly with you on your System under test.

Additionally, may I also ask you to try the approach which was posted by odklicez on this topic?

Thank you.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image