The application under test has changed, how do we change the Ranorex Automation API

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
Ruby K
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:59 am

The application under test has changed, how do we change the Ranorex Automation API

Post by Ruby K » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:37 am

I am a newbie to Ranorex Tool. We have a desktop application.
We have a MS Visual Studio test tools unit testing 'Test Suite' using Ranorex automation API. There are some changes to our application under test . We need to update or modify our Ranorex repository and then attach it to the MS VS solution again.
How do I do that? is there some documentation existing for using automation API? Also how to revamp that ? :idea:
Can you please point me to any documentation on Ranorex API how to ?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11996
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: The application under test has changed, how do we change the Ranorex Automation API

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:53 pm

Hi Ruby,

Generally, the repository is seamlessly managed from within Ranorex Studio in a standard Ranorex solution. Since your team is using their own custom test framework with the Ranorex API and repository, there is less documentation available for this specific type of usage. This is not wrong or a bad way to use Ranorex, just a more customized approach which I am sure fits your tests requirements.

I believe the below is what you are looking for. These steps explain how to update an existing repository file with the standalone Ranorex Spy without Ranorex Studio.
  1. Open the existing repository file (<RepositoryName>.rxrep) with Ranorex Spy (located in the Ranorex install directory as Ranorex.Spy.exe)
  2. Update/modify the repository in Spy ("Element Repository" tab at the top)
  3. Save the changes
Note: You can also export the CS file in Spy if you this is all you are looking for ("Element Repository" tab > Export > C#/VB.NET).
1.png
1.png (15.86 KiB) Viewed 68 times
Once the repository file is updated, your project should detect these changes. For example, if you added a new repository item, you should be able to use it within your test.

I hope this answers your question!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image