The solution has been changed externally - problem

Bug reports.
Rai_seb
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:40 am

The solution has been changed externally - problem

Post by Rai_seb » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:52 am

Heya!

I recently updated to version 6.0 and since then whenever i run Ranorex i get this:
ranorex solution.JPG
ranorex solution.JPG (16.61 KiB) Viewed 1018 times
Reloading just ends up looping or crashing the program. If i choose "Keep old solution open" i can work but the same popup keeps popping after pretty much every action you make inside the program(adding a new code module or tracking something etc..). Anyone got some advice to fix this?

Br
-Sebastian

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: The solution has been changed externally - problem

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:08 pm

Hello Sebastian,

Thank you for your comment. This issue was already reported by other users, but unfortunately, we are not able to reproduce it on our side. It seems to be related to a running anti virus software. May I ask you to send an email to [email protected]? I would like to analyze the issue in more detail.

Thank you.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: The solution has been changed externally - problem

Post by odklizec » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:48 pm

Hi,

I've experienced this as well, but in my case, it was caused by user error. Simply, I've mistakenly opened the solution (studio) twice ;) After I switched from second instance of studio to first one, it complained about externally modified solution. It sounds like OK behavior in case of opening the same solution multiple times? But it should not happen if the solution/studio is opened just once.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: The solution has been changed externally - problem

Post by Support Team » Thu Jun 02, 2016 1:13 pm

Hi Pavel,

You are absolutely correct. In your case this is an expected behavior, but we already found out that the problem on Sebastians computer is caused by the Anti-Virus scanner. The dialog pops up again and again even there is only one Ranorex Studio instance open.
We are currently analyzing it and I hope we can fix this issue soon.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image