Troubleshooting

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Chad
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:59 am

Troubleshooting

Post by Chad » Wed Feb 17, 2016 10:43 am

Hi,

We have a .net 4.5 WPF application and I've authored the tests using "WPF Only" using Ranorex 5.4.5.

Our build server is windows 7 x64 with sp1, all tests fail. Same problem on a windows 7 VM as well as on a Win 10 VM. The Win 10 VM does get a bit further but still gets stuck really quick.

How do you troubleshoot these issues as you can't even run Ranorex Spy with a runtime license on a problem machine?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Troubleshooting

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 17, 2016 1:17 pm

Hi,

The only way is to temporarily use Studio license on the problematic machines, so you will be able to use Spy to check the differences. If you are using floating Studio license, it should not be a problem. Simply terminate Ranorex on your main computer and start it on VM (you may need to change the type of license on every VM).

In case of node locked Studio license, well, you will just have unregister the Studio license from your main computer and install it on VM. Once finished with debugging, unregister the license and register it again on main computer. There is no other way. Honestly, I would really suggest to invest to Studio floating license. It's definitely handy for debugging purposes, especially in case you need to run (and debug) tests on multiple VMs.

BTW, the problem you are experiencing is usually caused by small differences in xpaths between OS/individual machines. Typically, it could be caused by using indexes in xpaths stored in repository. You should definitely not use indexes unless there is no other way to identify an element. Additionally, make sure to use regexes to identify strings defined in xpaths.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Chad
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:59 am

Re: Troubleshooting

Post by Chad » Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:01 am

Thanks for the reply Pavel, sorry it took so long for me to post. Made some infrastructure changes including getting the test platforms updated to windows 10 to alleviate path mismatch problems. I solved all the issues by simplifying paths although it will most likely end up in a lookup performance hit although that would be a minor in the bigger scheme of things.

Will have to look at getting a floating of studio at some point, unfortunately it wouldn't be this year. I do sincerely hope that the powers that be would reconsider at least allowing Ranorex Spy with a run-time license.

zivshapirawork
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:47 am
Location: Israel

Re: Troubleshooting

Post by zivshapirawork » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:02 pm

Maybe you can post the errors in the Ranorex report and also You could print the paths that fail into the report, so that you can compare successful and failed executions.

this would help in fine tuning the path's in the repo or code to fit all the cases.