Trying to send email on failure using VB.Net

Ask general questions here.
fester13579

Trying to send email on failure using VB.Net

Post by fester13579 » Wed May 21, 2014 11:11 pm

Hello,

Noob here with 5.x, I am looking for a vb.net solution to notify me when a test has failed.

I have done some searching on the forum and found this link however it is written in C, and when I tried to convert it I ran into all sorts of problems that my noob-fu is not strong enough to fix. :cry:

http://www.ranorex.com/blog/wp-content/ ... ogging.zip

Could someone please post or point me to a working solution written in VB that I could learn from?

Also, I am assuming that some sort of 'event handler' is used so that no matter where a failure occurs the send Mail module would fire. That is to say without having to check in multiple places in the code if any error is raised, call the send mail function.

Thank you

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Trying to send email on failure using VB.Net

Post by Support Team » Fri May 23, 2014 2:03 pm

Hello fester13579,

Please find attached a VisualBasic “report to mail”- solution . It is pretty comprehensive so I guess all your requirements are met within this solution.

Regards,
Robert
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

krstcs

Post by krstcs » Fri May 23, 2014 2:51 pm

I would recommend using a continuous integration solution like Jenkins (free) or Bamboo ($$) to do this.

I use Jenkins and have it set to send emails on build failures (there are plugins for this as well as some of the other things I do with it). Basically, Ranorex will throw an exit code of 1 if there was a failure in the test, and Jenkins will pick up any exit code that is NOT 0 as a failure of the build, so it will mark the build failed and send an email to the selected recipients.