Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Pramila
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 11:55 am

Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Post by Pramila » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:59 am

Hello,

We're using Ranorex on our client application to test. The client application have a frame, which contains other controls like buttons,edit,combobox.

We can access the frame controls like buttons,edit,combobox by thier 'name' property through Ranorex.
But we cannot access the frame object by its 'name' property set in the client application. Ranorex does not identify the 'Name' property even thou it is set.Also the Base type is not identified. It just identifies the frame title.

Also when we access the frame object thru java wrapper, then the 'name' property is accessible.

Please find the attached screenshot for the test application.
The screeshot contains the Ranorex spy output of a test application. The frame's 'name' property is set to 'MyFrameName". But is it not visible.

So, the questions is there a way to access 'Name' property set in the application through Ranorex?

We want to use it in the repository for our current requirement.
Please reply at the earliest so that we can take further decision on this.

For the record, we have configured Ranorex with the active JRE.

My configuration is as follows:

Ranorex: 4.1.6.17768
.Net RunTime Version: 4.0.30319.18444

Java: 1.7.0_71-b14

O/S: Windows 7

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Pramila
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Post by krstcs » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:51 pm

Could you post a Ranorex Snapshot of your application so that we can see the properties that Ranorex picks up? You can find information on creating a Ranorex Snapshot here.

Also, could you post a sample application that has this same issue?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

Pramila
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 11:55 am

Re: Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Post by Pramila » Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:17 am

Hi,
Thanks for the response.
I have attached the snapshot of the test app we are trying to use ranorex for automation.
I ave already attached a sample test program which has similar issue.

regards,
pramila
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Post by Support Team » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:14 am

Hi Pramila,

Thank you for providing the application.
Unfortunately, it is not possible at the moment to get the name from a Java form. I have already added an entry in our bug tracking system and our development team will analyze it in more detail.
I would suggest using the title instead of the name in order to recognize the form.

Regards,
Bernhard

Pramila
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 11:55 am

Re: Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Post by Pramila » Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:24 pm

Hi Bernhard,
Thanks for the suggestions.
Currently we are using the form's title in our client application.To support internationalization, we need to access the object name.

Is there any other ways you recommend to get the object by its name? Any kind of Custom Adapter?

Do you have any idea when a fix might be made available?

thanks and regards,
pramila

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to access object name in JFrame in Java app

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:22 pm

Hello pramila,

Unfortunately, there is not workaround at the moment and I cannot promise that this can be fixed in our next release. However, our development team is working on a fix at the moment.
As workaround could be to set another property within your application with the value of the form name.

Regards,
Bernhard