Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
Aswini
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:49 pm

Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Aswini » Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:51 pm

Hi,

I need to automate an IOS application which contains hybrid content. If we perform actions on these elements, they are not recorded. This is blocking my testing.

In the attached image file, you can find few elements under DOM. Those elements are not recorded.
Please help me to resolve this.

Thanks & Regards,
Aswini
Attachments
Dashboard.png
Dashboard.png (29.42 KiB) Viewed 1450 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 17, 2014 12:54 pm

Hi Aswini,

May I ask you to send us more detailed information about your app and your system under test?
Which Ranorex and iOS version do you use?
Could you specify what you mean with hybrid content, do you mean the HTML elements?
If so, what happens when you drag'n'drop a html element from Spy to your repository and then to your action table to create for instance a Validate.Exists? Does this work?
Or do just the elements below get identified and other HTML elements not?
Please also send us (to [email protected]) or post here a Ranorex snapshot file of your app showing the elements which cannot be identified.
The following link will show you how to generate a snapshot file: Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

Aswini
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Aswini » Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:09 am

Hi Markus,

In the application, HTML5 elements with Javascript is used.
Ranorex Version:5.0.3
IOS Version: IOS7

While recording, few dom elements are captured. If we do Play, the same elements are not recognized.
Can you please help in resolving this.

Thanks & Regards,
Aswini

Aswini
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Aswini » Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:59 pm

Hi Markus,
As mentioned before, the application is made using third party library "Apache cordova". Please let me know whether Ranorex will support to instruments this type of applications.

Also, I'm receiving "Failed to Start App" message while starting the app through Ranorex. Please confirm whether this the problem with Application or the third party library.

Please help me resolve this ASAP as this became a show stopper for automation testing.

Thanks,
Aswini

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:01 pm

Hi Aswini,

I am afraid I need at least a Ranorex snapshot file of the application showing the HTML5 elements and the failed test report to be able to help you.
When you don't want to upload the files here you can also directly send them to [email protected].
Please also add the link to this forum thread to the Email.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

Aswini
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Aswini » Tue Jun 24, 2014 12:08 pm

Hi Markus,

I'm so sorry that i'm not able to provide the snapshot as I'm not allowed. But I couldn't be able to see the html elements in Spy. If you need any other information, please let me know.

Note: IN few pages, I'm able to see the html elements as given below
.//dom[@domain='Host address']//div[#'pt_scroller']/ul[@title='']
I'm able to do all the operations on these type of elements.
But few html elements are not even recorded with spy.
Please suggest further

Thanks,
Aswini

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to capture few dom elements in IOS Application

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:15 pm

Hi Aswini,

Without more detailed information about the app and the elements which aren't recognized by Ranorex it is very hard to analyze the issue.
Is it somehow possible to get the app? In order to reproduce the issue on our machines.
Are you sure this is no issue about too relative RxPaths?
May I ask you to write us (to [email protected]) an email with more detailed information about the elements you have problems with?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image