Unable to identify an element in Modal Form

Ask general questions here.
upen
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 12:55 pm

Unable to identify an element in Modal Form

Post by upen » Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:42 am

HI,
Ranorex ( record&playback) unable to find the elements in a Modal form.
Steps.
1. Clicked on a button----A modal form displayed.'
2. Then in modal form i recorded the all the elements present but ranorex not able to identify the when doing play back.
actually cursor is not moving to that modal form. I have added Mouse Move lines in the scripts , enabled hotkeys,validated elements add in setting did the changes and also updated Rxpath as well .Still not succeed.
Could you please help me on this.
I tried with variable as well as hard coded values.
Attachments
CreateRTV.rxrec
(44.65 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5330
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Unable to identify an element in Modal Form

Post by odklizec » Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:21 am

Hi,

Please upload a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the modal dialog. Recording file is unfortunately not enough to find the cause of the problem. Also, please post full xpath of problematic element(s), as you have it stored in repo (including all parent elements). And finally, please post exact error message you are getting. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

upen
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 12:55 pm

Re: Unable to identify an element in Modal Form

Post by upen » Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:21 pm

Hi , Sorry for the late reply.
I have added three snapshots .
1. ENtire Modal snap shot
2. 1st time(day 1) captured the Rxpatch
3. 2nd time(day 2) captured the Rxpatch

Some times ranorex able to identify using the path captured in point 2 and some timed it is failing.
after failing when spy on the element the path keeps changing as mentioned in point 3.In this Path Div[104] is keep on changing as result element not idenified.
i removed array 104 from this Div and other array mentioned in other Div , it worked for few times but not continuously.
Also during playback 'The mouse action was performed outside the boundaries of the assigned UI element.(null) ' I updated the Disable bound warning to true and action spot on centre still not succeed .
PFA.
Attachments
Snapshot of the Field-Claim Type---2nd time spy on this element.rxsnp
(296.85 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Snapshot of the Field-Claim Type---1st time spy on this element.rxsnp
(262.61 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
SnapShot Of Entire Modal.rxsnp
(322.17 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5330
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Unable to identify an element in Modal Form

Post by odklizec » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:38 pm

Hi,

You forgot to post full xpath of the element, as you have it stored in repo and which fails during playback (ideally, post entire error message from report). As you pointed out, the page is highly dynamic, so you must eliminate all dynamic attributes and eventually, find some nondynamic attributes and enter them manually to the xpath (e.g. class attribute).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5330
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Unable to identify an element in Modal Form

Post by odklizec » Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:19 am

Hi, just some additional thoughts...

At first, please try to update your current Ranorex version, with most recent 9.0.1. This new version contains a lot of bug fixes, so it's better to use this version over 9.0.0. At next, the snapshots you posted, complain about missing IE plugin. Missing IE plugin should not impact Ranorex ability to find UI elements, just the search speed. But still, it's better to have Ranorex plugin installed and enabled. And finally, I see your UI is created with JQWidgets, which is somewhat tricky technology to automate. Basically, forget about record&replay scenarios and start exploring the power of Class attribute and manual xpath editing ;) This kind of UI requires a very good knowledge of xpath usage.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration