Unable to identify menu bar Items

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
sunilDahiya
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:21 pm

Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by sunilDahiya » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:00 pm

Hi Team,

I have a problem regarding the object identification of MenuBar strip item.
The MenuBar strip object has some items but are not separately identifiable using ranorex. Ranorex can only identify the MenuBar strip for every item and to select/click on any of the item, it is to be selected using location of the item.

see the following image and warning on the left hand side in attached image.

Problem: I would like to select "File" item from the menubar but can not select it. only selection possiblity is to select on location of menubar. Is it possible to select item from menubar with clicking on location.

Thanks for your feedback...
Regards,
Attachments
MenuBar.jpg
MenuBar.jpg (92.62 KiB) Viewed 1618 times
Last edited by sunilDahiya on Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:15 pm

Hi,

Did you take a look at the link which was provided by the technology limitation warning?
If not please take a look at the mentioned points on the General Troubleshooting section of the User Guide.
Do you have sufficient security privileges, what happens if you start the Spy as administrator?
Which Ranorex version are you using?
Can you send us a Ranorex Snapshot file of your application?
Following link will show you how to generate a snapshot file:
Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

sunilDahiya
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by sunilDahiya » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:33 pm

Hi Team,

Yes I checked every possibility from technology limitation but doesn't help.....
I am logged in as an Administrator but nothing seems to be working....
I am using the lastest version of Ranorex. It is: 3.3.1.18438 and .NET version 4.0

I have send the snapshot file of the application @ ur support team.
Thanks for your feedabck.

Regards,
Sunil

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by Support Team » Thu Aug 02, 2012 9:14 am

Hi,

Thanks for the snapshot!
Did you also explicitly start the Ranorex Spy as administrator "Run as administrator"?
Is there an antivirus or a firewall running on your machine? If yes, can you turn it off and check if Ranorex is then able to identify the elements?
Please also turn the UAC off and check if that has any influence on your app.
You wrote that the .Net 4.0 framework is installed on your computer, may I ask which version of the framework is installed, the full or the client version?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

sunilDahiya
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by sunilDahiya » Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:07 am

Hi Markus,

1. Yes I also started the Ranorex spy as adminsitrator using "Run as administrator".
2. There is no antivirus or any firewall running on the machine.
3. I also tuned off the UAC but nothing changed...
4. Both version of .NET 4 are installed on machine --> .Net 4 Client Profile and .Net 4 Extended.

Thanks for your feedback....
Regards,
Sunil

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by Support Team » Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:43 pm

Hello Sunil,

Do you have this problem also in other applications, e.g. windows calculator?
In some versions of Windows 7 (e.g. OEM versions) is the oleacc.dll not registered correctly. This DLL is necessary for Ranorex to work correctly.
Please try the following steps to register the DLL.

Open the Start Menu in Windows
Type the following string into the 'Search programs and files' text box: regsvr32 \Windows\System32\oleacc.dll
Restart Windows and try to track the elements.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

sunilDahiya
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by sunilDahiya » Fri Aug 03, 2012 2:57 pm

Hi,

1. I don't have any problem identifying objects with other applications.
2. the oleacc.dll is alreday registered under windows/system32 :)!

Regards,
Sunil

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:50 pm

Hello Sunil,

Does this problem only occur on your PC or are there more PC's with this problem?

Please try to uninstall Ranorex completely and install it again. Please make sure that all prerequisites are installed properly. If you download the zip file from our download archive you will find the setup.exe file. You can also download the Ranorex-X.X.X.exe file to install Ranorex.
If you do so all necessary prerequisites will be installed.
Don't use the Ranorex-x.x.x.x.msi because then the prerequisites will not be installed.

Regards
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

sunilDahiya
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by sunilDahiya » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:01 am

Hi Team,

Here, I am not sure if the real problem is about re-installation.
while spying my context menu, the "ContolType" of menu items is not "MenuItems" but is "ToolStripDropDownMenu". Is there any Ranorex inbuilt control which support this Windows Form control as well. I am not sure if I can change the control "ToolStripDropDownMenu" to normal Ranorex "MenuItem" or Do I?

The problem is not onyl identifying Items from ContextMenu but also Items from MenuBar. In both controls, spy doesn't show any child items. The Test application is written in C#. The class name for both control is "WindowsFroms10.Window.8.app.0.33c0d9d". May be this class could be a wall to identify elements!!


any further suggestions...
Sunil

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Unable to identify menu bar Items

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:12 pm

Hello Sunil,

It is hard to reproduce this issue. Is it possible to give us access to the application?

Regards
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image