unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Ask general questions here.
rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:54 am

Hi,
My AUT opens up WebDocument: IE type browser panel for logging in, Ranorex is unable to identify its elements, even when I record and play.... it doesn't capture those elements....any idea, how this can be tacked

Thanks,
Rajee

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6168
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:33 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, it's impossible to tell what's wrong without seeing the app under test or, at very least, a Ranorex snapshot of the application under test. Could you please provide the app or snapshot (NOT screenshot)?

Generally speaking, the IE or IE-based browsers don't need Ranorex plugin for detection of UI elements. However, the IE plugin significantly speeds up the element search. From your description I understand, that your app is a desktop-based app, with integrated web browser? Which means, it's not instrumented with plugin. This should not be a problem for element tracking. But as mentioned, it's impossible to tell what's wrong without seeing the app or the app snapshot.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:44 am

Here's the snapshot from spy,
Also how can I find the IE plugin, I dont see any Ranorex plugin on IE as of now
Attachments
Webdocument_IE_LoginPage.rxsnp
(46.08 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6168
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by odklizec » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:50 am

Hi,

At first, you are using an outdated (no longer supported) version 9.1.0. Please update Ranorex with most recent 9.2.1.
At next, I don't see a problem with recognition of individual form elements? All elements in snapshot appear to be recognizable?
And finally, Ranorex automatically instruments the IE during setup. Just make sure the plugin is enabled...
IEPluginEnabled.png
IEPluginEnabled.png (38.99 KiB) Viewed 382 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:26 pm

Updated Ranorex to the latest version, enabled Ranorex add on on IE, still unable to find the element:

get the following error:
Failed to find item 'CableRoutingRepository.SignIn.User'. Please check that your whitelist allows Ranorex to access the process.
No element found for path '/dom[@domain='identity-stg.trimble.com']//input[#'user']' at step '' after 1 attempts within 1m.

Also, noticed that , a form is created when accessing this elements... when tried to locate this element , get this error:
Ranorex techmnology limitation
BitBridge
Ranorex and the automated process dont have the same bit width and the 32/64 bit bridge couldnt be started. Object recognition is limited

On settings I have Enabled32.64 Bit bridge
Attached recorded sol for reference
Attachments
SignInIE.zip
(731.71 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

foals11
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:19 am

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by foals11 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:05 pm

Hi,

Have you added your application to the whitelist?
Explantion about whitelisting: https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... telisting/

Additionally, do you start your application local or via an network drive?

regards,

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:49 pm

yes the process is whitelisted ...
I am running it locally
Have another snapshot which has all the values : PFA
Attachments
BrowserAuthenticationWindow.rxsnp
(87.85 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

foals11
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:19 am

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by foals11 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:16 pm

Hi,

Try to use these paths for the input fields:

user: /form[@controlname='BrowserAuthenticationWindow']/container[@controlname='webBrowserPanel']//dom[@domain='identity-stg.trimble.com']//input[#'user']

password: /form[@controlname='BrowserAuthenticationWindow']/container[@controlname='webBrowserPanel']//dom[@domain='identity-stg.trimble.com']//input[#'password']

Upload your compressed Ranorex report, if the elements doesn't get found.
How to create a compressed report: https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/han ... ex-report/

regards,

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:39 pm

I am not sure , how can a form be added to whitelist.[screenshot of the whitelist attached]
Attached compressed report
I have also added
I get this error:
Failed to find item 'CableRoutingRepository.BrowserAuthenticationWindow.User'. Please check that your whitelist allows Ranorex to access the process.
No element found for path '/form[@controlname='BrowserAuthenticationWindow']//container[@controlname='webBrowserPanel']//dom[@domain='identity-stg.trimble.com']//input[#'user']' at step '' after 1 attempts within 1m.
Show/Hide Stacktrace
at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.FindInternal[T](Boolean findSingle, Boolean throwException, Duration effectiveTimeoutOverride)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.<>c__DisplayClass75_0`1.<Find>b__0()at Ranorex.Core.Testing.Services.NoMaintenanceModeService.HandleElementNotFound[T](Func`1 action, RepoItemInfo entry)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.Find[T](Boolean findSingle, Boolean throwException, Duration effectiveTimeoutOverride)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.CreateAdapter[T](Boolean throwException, Duration waitTimeout)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.CreateAdapter[T](Boolean throwException)at CableRouting.CableRoutingRepositoryFolders.BrowserAuthenticationWindowAppFolder.get_User() in c:\Repository\DesignSuite\cablerouting\Ranorex\CableRouting\CableRouting\CableRoutingRepository.cs:line 5673at CableRouting.TestScripts.dummytest.Ranorex.Core.Testing.ITestModule.Run() in c:\Repository\DesignSuite\cablerouting\Ranorex\CableRouting\CableRouting\TestScripts\dummytest.cs:line 135at Ranorex.Core.Testing.TestModuleLeaf.RunInternal(DataContext parentDataContext, Int32 iteration, Int32 iterationCount, Boolean skipIteration)

Also to be noted, that when i use spy sometimes it identifies the element when highlighted and sometimes it doesnt
Attachments
whitelist.png
whitelist.png (22.77 KiB) Viewed 348 times
CableRouting_20200204_154401.zip
(301.75 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6168
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:32 am

Hi,

There is missing 'iexplore' process name in the list of whitelisted apps! 'Explorer' is not correct IE process name! And this is a most probable reason why the signin DOM is not found during runtime.

At next, have you tried to track the signin form during running the test? Simply pause/stop the test right after loading sign in dialog and then go to repository and track the form. Eventually, examine it it with standalone Spy.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:57 am

have added iexplorer now manually to the whitelist.
When I pause the test : I am not able to find the element in both standalone spy and ranorex studio
but when I update the element data for the HOST on spy,then I am able to highlight the elment

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:04 pm

any help on this would be great

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6168
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:10 pm

Hi,

What happens, if you run standalone Spy and track the elements with it? Is it possible to track the individual elements? BTW, have you updated Ranorex to 9.2.1?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rsudhak
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by rsudhak » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:16 pm

yes I have updated , when I run standalone spy, I am able to track it, but sometimes I have to update the element data for the form inorder to fetch it... not only that , its pretty slow in finding the elements

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6168
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: unable to locate element in Ranorex studio of type WebDocument:IE

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:26 pm

Hi,

Please create a Ranorex snapshot in the standalone Spy and post it here. I can't comment the problem with element updating. I think you will have to contact Ranorex support and request a remote session, to show them the problem in action?

The slow recognition/tracking of elements is most probably caused by the missing IE plugin? There is nothing you can do about this. The IE plugin is only available in IE browser, not in the integrated browsers. Hence the element recognition is noticeably slower.

BTW, please create the snapshot of entire UI form, containing the web browser, not just the DOM element! Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration