Unable to run Ranorex in debug mode.

Ask general questions here.
shruti Kapur
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:22 am

Unable to run Ranorex in debug mode.

Post by shruti Kapur » Tue Nov 03, 2020 10:55 am

Hello,

I am trying to debug screen test code on ranorex but it asks for admin permission everytime I run the debugger.Can someone help here. Thank you.
The process to run requires higher privilages. Ranorex studio needs to be restarted as administrator

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6560
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Unable to run Ranorex in debug mode.

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 03, 2020 11:15 am

Hi,

Well, the error message says it all. You simply must run Ranorex Studio in Administrator mode. There is no workaround for this. Debug mode requires administrator privileges. For more details, see my old post available here...
are-you-asked-to-restart-ranorex-when-y ... tml#p48783
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

shruti Kapur
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:22 am

Re: Unable to run Ranorex in debug mode.

Post by shruti Kapur » Fri Nov 06, 2020 3:13 pm

Thank you for the answer. My Infrastructure team is not in favour of providing admin rights on any PC.
Is there another way ? Can i have a email address where i can directly get support for this topic. The infra team has some questions about this.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6560
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Unable to run Ranorex in debug mode.

Post by odklizec » Fri Nov 06, 2020 3:17 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, there is most probably no workaround. Debug mode simply requires admin rights.
Feel free to contact ranorex support here:
https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/
But I guess they will provide more or less the same answer ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration