Updating data sources

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Julien Diot
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:25 pm
Location: Amiens (FR)

Updating data sources

Post by Julien Diot » Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:35 am

Hi,

I use Excel files as source data.

When I modify one of the files, the changes are well taken into account when I open the source data from the smart folder, but at runtime, the data are not updated, I have to restart the application to have the right data in design and execution.

Am I the only one with this problem?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Updating data sources

Post by odklizec » Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:41 am

Hi,

Could you please share you Ranorex version and exact steps? Also, have you simply run the test or did you perform complete test rebuild? And finally, are the data files on a local hdd (i.e. not on network/shared drive)?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Julien Diot
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:25 pm
Location: Amiens (FR)

Re: Updating data sources

Post by Julien Diot » Thu Jan 23, 2020 11:54 am

I'm using RANOREX V9.2.1.
The files are local (not copied into the project).
When I have this problem, I can't certify that I'm doing a complete rebuild. I will take care of that and I will complete this topic.

User avatar
Julien Diot
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:25 pm
Location: Amiens (FR)

Re: Updating data sources

Post by Julien Diot » Thu Jan 23, 2020 12:49 pm

Indeed, by recompiling the complete project, I have no problem.

Thank you for your help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Updating data sources

Post by odklizec » Thu Jan 23, 2020 12:54 pm

Hi,

Good to hear that! ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration