use of OpenBrowser function with multiple Browserversions

Ask general questions here.
StephanBast
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 1:02 pm

use of OpenBrowser function with multiple Browserversions

Post by StephanBast » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:50 am

Hello,
i have installed FireFox 55 anf FireFox 57 Quantum on one System.
Can i use the OpenBrowser function for opening them, because as i see i can only add "FireFox" as Browserparameter.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: use of OpenBrowser function with multiple Browserversions

Post by odklizec » Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:21 pm

Hi,

As far as I know, OpenBrowser action currently supports only one Firefox version, installed in the system. I believe the most recent one. If you want to open another version then you will have to use Run Application action, pointing to the firefox.exe of your choice.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

qwertzu
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:08 am

Re: use of OpenBrowser function with multiple Browserversions

Post by qwertzu » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:00 pm

hi,
odklizec is totally right on that point. (once more ;-) )
I had once been in contact with the support team regarding this topic.
Ranorex looks for the current Firefox version within the registry keys. The current version is usually the last one installed on your machine.