User Guide Calculator Test script

Ask general questions here.
farhanzom

User Guide Calculator Test script

Post by farhanzom » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:04 pm

Hi,
I'm a beginner in automation and also Ranorex, I downloaded it recently and tried to follow the online user guide. I created a test project by following the guide for recording and replaying the script for the calculator application. I started recording, opened the calculator clicked 5 + 5 = 10 and clicked validate, however for some reason the value 10 which is the sum is not showing in Text value field, it is always blank, I'm not sure why this value is not being populated, I'm on Windows 7 platform.

What am I doing wrong, can someone please help?

Cheers,
Farhan

artur_gadomski

Re: User Guide Calculator Test script

Post by artur_gadomski » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:53 pm

I think calculator user guide is written for windows xp calculator application.

farhanzom

Post by farhanzom » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:16 pm

Thanks artur, you may be right, I guess it could be an OS related issue.

Cheers

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Support Team » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:13 pm

Hi farhan,

The Calculator sample is for the WinXP calculator, and because the Win7 calculator is completely different, our sample doesnt work anymore under Windows 7. If you open the sample, there should be a message if the windows version is wrong.

So you are doing nothing wrong :)
Please have a look at the other samples.

Michael
Ranorex Team

farhanzom

Post by farhanzom » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:48 pm

Hi Michael,

Thanks a lot for your quick response. That helps a lot. Well, the thing is I didn't open the sample file I just followed the guide and used the Windows 7 calculator for testing, maybe that's why I didn't receive any error message.

I'll try other samples.

Cheers,
Farhan

farhanzom

Post by farhanzom » Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:09 pm

Hi Michael,

I tried recording a test on Windows 7 calculator. These are the steps I followed: