UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
loonquawl
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:08 am

UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by loonquawl » Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:17 am

Hi.
Running an extended Trial version 7.1.1. of Ranorex on Win7 64, I have a UserCodeCollection, that contains a UserCodeMethod with four parameters.
When i use this method as an action in a recording, only the first three params are realized as fields (see screenshots).
I replicated this with more UserCodeMethods, more than three params will not be shown in Recording-view.

Is this a bug or a feature?
Attachments
2017-12-01 09_08_15-Select from Library.png
In the Select-From-Library-dialog all four params are shown correctly
2017-12-01 09_08_15-Select from Library.png (4.3 KiB) Viewed 402 times
2017-12-01 09_07_30-Bausteine_Win_VF_HMI_etal - Ranorex Studio (Administrator).png
In the Recordings-View the last (lala) is absent
2017-12-01 09_07_30-Bausteine_Win_VF_HMI_etal - Ranorex Studio (Administrator).png (13.42 KiB) Viewed 402 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by odklizec » Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:35 am

Hi,

It's a feature. There is simply no room in UI for more params. You need to use button [Args] to access the rest of params.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

loonquawl
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:08 am

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by loonquawl » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:44 am

odklizec wrote:There is simply no room in UI for more
The empty space to the right of "Comment" might be called room :lol:

But ok, as long as it's accessible. Thx!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by odklizec » Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:56 am

Well, I believe the UI is designed for typically used screen resolution, which may be much lower than yours? ;) But I agree it could be done dynamically, e.g. based of the actual resolution and available space.

BTW, there is already a User Voice created for this, so feel free to vote for this idea here:
https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... de-methods
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

loonquawl
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:08 am

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by loonquawl » Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:31 pm

Voiced. thx!

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:27 pm

You'll also notice any return value from a usercode method is only accessible via the properties window. So that's neat. :roll:
Doug Vaughan

loonquawl
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:08 am

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by loonquawl » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:10 pm

return value from a usercode method is only accessible via the properties window
Exactly what i was looking for just now! Keep talking, you are on a streak! :idea:

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: UserCodeMethods only shown with three of four params

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:31 pm

loonquawl wrote:
return value from a usercode method is only accessible via the properties window
Exactly what i was looking for just now! Keep talking, you are on a streak! :idea:
it was the obvious next question. Since the answer seems a bit inconsistent, I figured I'd preempt it.
Doug Vaughan