Using Different Data Connectors for child test cases

Ask general questions here.
Madhumita Ghosh3
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:53 am

Using Different Data Connectors for child test cases

Post by Madhumita Ghosh3 » Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:58 am

Hi Team,

Since am a newbie in Ranorex and do not have much knowledge of it please help me in getting the following query resolved.

I have 2 child test cases for 1 Parent Test case in my Test Suite. I want to use 2 different data sources for my child test cases and bind the module variables accordingly. Everytime I try to bind the module variables to the data connector of my 1st child test case, am not being able to do so as the Module Variables section of the Data Binding tab remains blank. PFB the necessary screenshots:
Attachments
DataBindingTabOfDataSource_1stChildTestCase.jpg
DataBindingTabOfDataSource_1stChildTestCase.jpg (118.71 KiB) Viewed 418 times
TestSuiteStructure.jpg
TestSuiteStructure.jpg (155.18 KiB) Viewed 418 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Using Different Data Connectors for child test cases

Post by odklizec » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:53 am

Hi,

The problem is that the recording BatteryPurchaseCall_D3CR is not a child of BatteryPurchaseCall_D3CR TC! It's only a child of parent BatteryPurchaseCall TC! This is why the Module Variables list is empty. Just drag&drop the recording to BatteryPurchaseCall_D3CR TC and binding should work as expected ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Madhumita Ghosh3
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Using Different Data Connectors for child test cases

Post by Madhumita Ghosh3 » Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:31 am

Hey Thanks a lot. It worked. :)