Using Ranorex to test install of AUT

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
dmconsulting1
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Using Ranorex to test install of AUT

Post by dmconsulting1 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:03 pm

The first step in the script is "Run Application" running the installer, but Ranorex seems to stop there rather than clicking through the various dialogs. Is there another function I should use for kicking off an installer?

The goal is to grab latest build, install, configure, then launch validation. But I can't get it to get through the install as it stops at "Running Application"
Attachments
ranorexRun.png
ranorexRun.png (6.57 KiB) Viewed 87 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5459
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Using Ranorex to test install of AUT

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:59 pm

Hi,

Have you tried to run the installer manually? Does it work? Also, make sure there is filled “Working directory” parameter. Empty “working directory“, is the most common cause of many “Run application” problems.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

dmconsulting1
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Using Ranorex to test install of AUT

Post by dmconsulting1 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:30 pm

Yes, the installer works fine. Here is the working directory.

I will try a clean recording since the repo wants to create multiple instances of the installer.
workingDir.png
workingDir.png (7.74 KiB) Viewed 68 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5459
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Using Ranorex to test install of AUT

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:35 pm

Hi,

Wait a minute! I don't think that Run Application supports wildcards (*)! You must use exact exe name, either hardcoded or passed via variable.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

dmconsulting1
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Using Ranorex to test install of AUT

Post by dmconsulting1 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:31 pm

It totally works now. The only issue is the warning about a button associated with a confirmation dialog about a wait (posted in that thread).

I was able to create a clean recording, then do a little clean up in the repo with naming and now it's golden. Thanks.

I am using a wildcard because the installer is the build number that has a time stamp (P38_Master_x64_1.2.20191121.01 in this case). I was having a tough time parsing the timestamp, so I used the wildcard. It seems to be working.