using the binding and itirating

Ask general questions here.
Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:06 pm

Hi all,

Have a small challenge that's been bugging me all day and need some help! :D

Here's my challenge, I'm sure someone has found a way how to do this.

Have an excel spreadsheet that has test cases and need to iterate thru those and enter them into a system (Jira/Zephyr). Let me explain

One iteration will be"

Column1, Column2, Column3 or TC_Name, Steps, Exp_results

TC01 Step 1
Step 2
Step 3
---------> Here where the TC needs to be saves and create a new TC which will be iteration 2 for TC#2 or next TC (TC02 below)
TC02 Step 1
Step 2
Step 3

So it looks like this! in excel
TC01 Step 1
Step 2
TC02 Step 1
Step 2
Step 3

How can I tell the Ranorex that the second iteration is the TC02? Any help, approach will be greatly apreciated!

Thanks in advance
Jimmy

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:06 pm

On the Data Source tab for each test case you can set the range.
range.png
range.png (18.67 KiB) Viewed 413 times
Doug Vaughan

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:48 pm

Thanks Vaughan! Yes, that worked for only a set or one range at the time. Example did 1-5, 12-15 but it did not iterated work ho I wanted. In one TC, did range of 1, the child TC did the range but didn't move to the next.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong.. here's a snapshot
Image

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:10 pm

I'm not entirely clear on how you're trying to iterate through your data. In your original post it appears that TC01 and TC02 are peers, but in your follow up you've indicated there is a child test case.

Maybe if you can explain what you're trying to do with your iterations and child test cases I can give you a better answer.
Doug Vaughan

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:25 pm

Thanks Vaugham! I've tried many ways, my apologies if presented the child one but guessing that at the end of the day I just want to iterate and add a condition. Example If TC name IsNotNull or <> NULL then move to the next iteration. Just can't get it to work! :(

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:01 pm

Here's a sample of the data.. any suggestion, approach, anything is greatly appreciated!!

Was thinking that if the TCName <> Null then move to the next iteration.. but each set should be one test case with multiple steps.
Attachments
Ranorex2.PNG
Data
Ranorex2.PNG (15.06 KiB) Viewed 407 times

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:16 pm

I don't think you're going to get something like that done without writing some code.
Doug Vaughan

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:36 pm

Was hoping that wasn't the answer.. :(

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:03 pm

Jimmyto wrote:Was hoping that wasn't the answer.. :(
So you're not actually trying to run tests, you're trying to use Ranorex to create data in Jira?
Doug Vaughan

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:25 pm

Yes to enter the test cases in Jira!

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:57 pm

I think there is a bulk loader for CSV files that might be helpful.
Doug Vaughan

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:47 pm

Thanks Vaughan for all your help! :D

Yes, there's an import utility in which currently exploring but not the import CSV column mapping are limited. Uncertain, if it's an implementation limitation, etc.

Vaughan.Douglas
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:05 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Vaughan.Douglas » Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:31 pm

Good news. I think you might be able to work something out using the new conditional functionality just released in Ranorex 7.1.0. I can't tell you how yet, but reading the new material made me think of your situation.
Doug Vaughan

Jimmyto
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: using the binding and itirating

Post by Jimmyto » Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:52 pm

I'll give it a shot! :D