Validate item appeared/ready

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
ekaz

Validate item appeared/ready

Post by ekaz » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:38 pm

Hey guys, first post of a newbie here.

So I got to the point of automation where I have huge problems with Ranorex automatic typing mechanism. Instead of smoothly typing forever - after a few tests in a row, my filenames start getting shorter and shorter from the beginning.

My solution for now is:
Is there a way that I can verify/validate if the temp unnamed instance of a "new file" is created to know that the text entering field for the name of the file is present? I want the typing function to start ONLY after I've verified the text field existence.

Please let me know what can be done, because this system is incredibly hard for a junior like me.

//OT: if this is a wrong forum - I apologize, please move it wherever it is supposed to be, if I made a mistake.

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Validate item appeared/ready

Post by odklizec » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:41 am

Hi and welcome here,

What you can do is to add WaitFor Exists action before the typing action. This should make sure that typing does not start until the input in question exists. The truth is, that if the key sequence action is assigned to an element, it should wait for the availability of the element as well. However, in case of web elements, it may happen that the element is already on page, so Ranorex correctly detects it as available, but it may not be entirely ready yet (because the page is not yet fully loaded) and this may be the source of your problem.

If WaitFor Exists does not help, you can try is to add WaitForDocumentLoaded action (drag & drop DOM element to record table and in the appeared menu go to Invoke Action >> WaitForDocumentLoaded. This should pause the execution of test unitl the page is not fully loaded. Sadly, it may not work with certain webs (typically Ajax powered).