Validation of text with a variable in action

Ask general questions here.
rastek
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Validation of text with a variable in action

Post by rastek » Wed Sep 09, 2020 9:59 am

I have a text to validate and I need to use both hardcoded string and variable, can I use both in action ?

this it is text I need to check and XX part if coming from a variable
abcdXX

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Validation of text with a variable in action

Post by odklizec » Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:26 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, the only way is to convert the validation action to User Code and combine hardcoded string with variable in code.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rastek
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: Validation of text with a variable in action

Post by rastek » Thu Sep 24, 2020 8:59 pm

if that would exist if would be good. Sometimes we have testers do not know code or they do not want.

Ranorex Recordings must include features like this in actions. I hope in future releases we will have that

Also table to table (snapshot) check would be great. I have few ideas like this in my mind if you care.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6180
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Validation of text with a variable in action

Post by odklizec » Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:12 am

Hi,

Well, many Recording-related things would be great. But you know, it takes time to develop all ideas ;) I believe, that there is already a user voice for that and that Ranoex folks already developed a prototype, which did not worked very well. Some things are apparently harder to implement, that they sound?

I agree with snapshot check action. It would be nice to have this action and not to have to code everything.

As for testers, who don't know or don't want to code, you see, TA "IS" about coding, no matter what marketing materials of some TA tools says. TA solution made with just recorded actions is not sustainable and at some point in time, everyone have to use a condition here or loop there. So anyone interested in TA, should be prepared for learning coding. There is simply no way around ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration