variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Bug reports.
andreas.tastler
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:59 am

variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by andreas.tastler » Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:44 am

Hello,

Variables in the commandline argument reportfile will not be resolved in Ranorex 4.0.1.
example: %S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxlog

Best Regards
Andreas

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:35 am

Hello Andreas,

I checked the argument and in my case it worked as expected, could you please check if the following command works on your machine: "C:\...\bin\Debug>YourExe.exe /rf:C:\Test\%S_%Y_%T.rxlog"?
Could you please also test it with the new Ranorex version, here is the link: Ranorex 4.0.2 and please use the setup.exe for the installation.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

andreas.tastler
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:59 am

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by andreas.tastler » Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:14 pm

Hello,

Seems to be a fixed bug of 4.0.1. It works with 4.0.2.

Best Regards
Andreas

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:50 am

Hello,

You are welcome :-)

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by odklizec » Fri May 09, 2014 1:08 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry to reopen this old post but it seems the same problem is still reproducible with compressed reports. Using below command line results with unresolved variables in output report file name:
/zr /zrf:c:\temp\%S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxzlog ends with %S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxzlog report name. Reproducible with Ranorex 5.0.2.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by Support Team » Mon May 12, 2014 3:42 pm

Hello odklizec,

Thank you for reporting this issue. I have already added the issue to our internal bug-tracking system. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by odklizec » Mon May 18, 2015 2:50 pm

Hi,

Sorry for reopening this post one more time, but I guess the issue is not fixed yet? Or maybe it's broken again? ;)
After an attempt to use the below command line...

Code: Select all

C:\test\bin\test.exe /zr /zrf:C:\test\reports\%S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxzlog
the output report file name looks like this:

Code: Select all

YD_T.rxzlog
It seems the same now happens both with compressed and uncompressed report.
Reproducible with Ranorex 5.3.2.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by Support Team » Tue May 19, 2015 9:58 am

Hi odklizec,

Unfortunately, we are not able to reproduce the issue with Ranorex 5.3.2. The fix for this issue was included in Ranorex 5.2.X. May I ask you to provide further details?
  • • operating system
    • Did you start the console with admin privileges?
Thanks,
Robert
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by odklizec » Tue May 19, 2015 10:19 am

Hi Robert,

OK, I found 100% reproducible steps (reproduced with Win7 Pro and Win Server 2012 R2). It seems it happens only if the command line is started from batch file! ;)

Just add the command line to *.bat or *.cmd file. I found no way to start the bat/cmd file with admin privileges, but it's possible to do so via new shortcut created for such bat/cmd. However, this did not help either.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by Support Team » Fri May 22, 2015 9:39 am

Hi odklizec,

Please ensure that you are escaping the '%' sign within your bat file.

E.g.:

Code: Select all

..\test.exe /zr/zrf:..\%%S_%%Y%%M%%D_%%T.rxzlog
:D

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by odklizec » Fri May 22, 2015 9:46 am

Ah, silly me ;) Sorry for false alarm! I'm always forgetting about escaping in batch files.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: variables in commandline argument reportfile not resolved

Post by Support Team » Tue May 26, 2015 8:56 am

Hello odklizec,

No problem, you're welcome. :)

Regards,
Robert
.
Image