Version management

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
aabouda
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:49 am

Version management

Post by aabouda » Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:55 am

Hello,

The client to an application with 2 versions (V1 and V2). The problem that in each version we have a repository a little different.
how to manage that with Ranorex?
thank you in advance

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5187
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Version management

Post by odklizec » Tue Sep 24, 2019 7:48 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, that without seeing, at very least, a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of each AUT version and some example xpaths from both versions, there is not much anyone here can do or suggest. Generally speaking, if both versions are too different, you will most probably have to create two versions of repository? But as mentioned, without seeing the snapshot(s), it's impossible to suggest something reliable.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Version management

Post by Stub » Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:05 pm

We branch our source code, including our Ranorex tests. Our older version tends to only see essential maintenance performed on it, while the development version continues to expand and evolve. That's the approach we've taken here. It saves having to put conditionals into our tests, which makes things a lot cleaner.