Versioning: .RXTST Reference

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
DavidH
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:49 pm

Versioning: .RXTST Reference

Post by DavidH » Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:07 pm

Hi,

We are working with Ranorex 8.0 in combination with Git (Stash)
We have 1 solution, with 1 test suite project and 2 module library projects.

When loading the complete Solution from Git some users experience an automatic changed .rxtst (test suite) file.
The change is:

Code: Select all

<references>
		<reference>
			C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex 8.0\Bin\Ranorex.Bootstrapper.dll
		</reference>
	</references>
Ranorex is installed on different locations for different users, hence a different place for the .dll.
Every time the solution is reopened, the file is automatically changed -> new commit.

Can we use a system variable in this reference or is there an alternative work around for this?

Thanks

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Versioning: .RXTST Reference

Post by krstcs » Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:10 pm

Is there a reason you cannot install Ranorex in the same spot on all systems? This seems to be the best way to solve the issue. Ranorex installs should be as consistent across your company as possible in order to keep these types of issues from popping up.

I'm pretty sure there's no way to parameterize that value, but I could be wrong.

The only way I could see doing it is with an operating system level variable (but I don't think Ranorex would recognize it or work with it anyway). The issue with doing something like that, though, is that it would mean you would need to go into each system and set an OS variable, which seems to be more of a hassle than just installing Ranorex in the same place on all systems.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

DavidH
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:49 pm

Re: Versioning: .RXTST Reference

Post by DavidH » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:27 pm

krstcs wrote:Is there a reason you cannot install Ranorex in the same spot on all systems? This seems to be the best way to solve the issue. Ranorex installs should be as consistent across your company as possible in order to keep these types of issues from popping up.

I'm pretty sure there's no way to parameterize that value, but I could be wrong.

The only way I could see doing it is with an operating system level variable (but I don't think Ranorex would recognize it or work with it anyway). The issue with doing something like that, though, is that it would mean you would need to go into each system and set an OS variable, which seems to be more of a hassle than just installing Ranorex in the same place on all systems.
Thanks for the reply.

All users can install Ranorex on the same spot, but some users prefer to install their applications on another location.
I had the same idea with an operating system variable, but I didn't know if this could work. It's easy to push an OS variable to all computers.

So it seems some users have to reinstall the software.