Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Bug reports.
befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:28 pm

OK, then let me try again. The code that produced this:
Process.Start(browserString, common.Constants.URL);

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:30 pm

Still don't see any attachment. Does the Upload Attachment work?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:52 am

Hi,

Normally it should work without any problems, which file do you want to upload, a simple jpg or any special file format?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:57 pm

It was a Word doc

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:36 pm

Hi,

It is not possible to upload a word document, but you can send it to our support email address: [email protected]

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:13 pm

OK then here it is in all its glory as a jpg.

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:46 pm

Maybe it got wiped out when I hit the Save button by mistake
Attachments
IeError.jpg
IeError.jpg (21.02 KiB) Viewed 1434 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:52 am

Hi,

that error message dialog is not very helpful at all.
Can you please provide us a sample application running in exactly this issue.
Are you getting any other more expressive error message?


Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:12 pm

Yes, did I neglect to mention that the message was useless? Not sure what you're asking for. Do you want me to attach a zip of the compiled application? It certainly won't work outside of our environment. The live app does not go outside the firewall. We could do a WebEx. It may be that I was just trying to use it before it was ready. I put a ten second delay in after starting IE, and it seemed to help. Update 2012-04-04 No, that wasn't it. That isn't real proof though since it can run fine for a couple weeks, and then I'll get an error every time for the next week with no test or application code changes.
Last edited by befair on Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:26 pm

As we can see there is a exception thrown somewhere in your application under test (if RX2012 is your executable). Try to find out where you might have forgotten to surround some critical code with a try/catch block.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support
.
Image

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:02 pm

Hmm. Well that seems quite unlikely to me since the error has never ever been seen except for when starting the app using Ranorex, and also because it does work once in a while even when run by Ranorex. In addition, now that I put in the delay, I can see that the application loads up just fine and that there is no problem until Ramotrex tries to do something.
Last edited by befair on Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:12 pm

I would say that issue doesn't belong on this thread, except for the fact that my automation will just hang until I dismiss the dialog, or kill the test. I thought of trying to detect the error window, but the fact is that Ranorex is unable to process any lines of code once it gets into this state.

befair
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:07 pm

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by befair » Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:00 pm

I believe that I have solved the crash with error issue. For whatever reason, this test needs to have a 20 second delay between starting IE, and attempting to interact with the application. I don't know why it's just this test, nor do I know why it was never needed before now. So now back to the real issue of this thread. I have been seeing the freezing behavior again, and I did find that it is possible to hit the pause button to see the curently executing code. I have seen it freeze up on this several times:
Ranorex.Text text = RootContainer.FindSingle(stripAndAdd(items.GetPath().ToString(),
    "text[@id='_DataBlockField_Label1']","text[@id='_value']"));
And also:
/// <summary>
            /// The ButtonNo item.
            /// </summary>
            [RepositoryItem("223061a1-bcd9-408e-a926-109e783c19c8")]
            public virtual Ranorex.Button ButtonNo
            {
                get
                {
                    return _buttonnoInfo.CreateAdapter<Ranorex.Button>(true);
Usually it's an outright freeze that never returns, but sometimes it just takes several minutes to find the object. It isn't just these two specific sections of the code. Iv'e observed it doing the same thing with other similar code.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very occasional Ranorex freeze when trying to find a window

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:27 am

Hi,

we need some more information:
  • What version of Ranorex do you use?
  • Which kind of technology are you going to automate?
  • If you are going to automate a web based application, which browser do you want to automate?
  • Where does the code hang (at GetPath, FindSingle or stripAndAdd)?
  • What exactly does stripAndAdd do?
Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
.
Image