Very Slow Test Suite?

Ask general questions here.
Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Very Slow Test Suite?

Post by Fergal » Wed Apr 29, 2015 2:50 pm

[Ranorex 5.2.2, Windows 7, machine has lots of RAM and is running quickly]

I have a number of Test Suites and they are all running fine except one. On the problematic test suite, recording and running tests works as it should. However, it is very slow in some respects, such as;
  • Opening the Test Suite in Ranorex, from opening it takes a number of minutes, before I can start working on the project
  • After right clicking on a Module in Project View and selecting "Rename", Ranorex freezes for 60 seconds plus.
What can I do to speed up the test suite?

Thanks!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3914
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Very Slow Test Suite?

Post by odklizec » Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:16 pm

Hi,

Are you by any chance using TFS? If so then it's most probably the same Ranorex TFS plugin issue we discussed here:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/ranorex-oc ... t7738.html
and here:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/tfs-projec ... t7819.html

Unfortunately, there is currently nothing you can do about it :( According to the discussion with Ranorex support, the problem is caused by Microsoft limitation of non-native TFS plugins. I've suggested to add an option to disable Ranorex TFS plugin. This would mean that all TFS-related operations would have to be done outside the Ranorex Studio (e.g. via Team Explorer). So we would lose the TFS integration in Ranorex Studio, but it should dramatically improve the speed of operations in TFS-based projects. But there is currently no word if such option will be added to Ranorex or not.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Very Slow Test Suite?

Post by Fergal » Wed Apr 29, 2015 3:58 pm

Thanks for your reply odklizec.
odklizec wrote:...Are you by any chance using TFS?...
No, I'm not using TFS. Some of the Test Suites which are running fine are using Tortoise SVN, however the problem suite is not using any version control.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very Slow Test Suite?

Post by Support Team » Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:21 am

Hello Fergal,

Please check if updating to our latest version resolves the issue.

Current version: Ranorex 5.3.2

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Very Slow Test Suite?

Post by Fergal » Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:52 pm

Thanks Robert, I am working in a team environment and we are not updating just at the moment. Is there anything else I can try?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Very Slow Test Suite?

Post by Support Team » Mon May 04, 2015 9:40 am

Hello Fergal,

Before analyzing your issue in more detail, it would be great if you could try to use your solution with Ranorex 5.3.2. Maybe just download a free trial to check whether it’s working.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image