View spy tree does not refresh

Bug reports.
User avatar
Florent
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Amiens / France

View spy tree does not refresh

Post by Florent » Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:59 pm

Ranorex version : 3.3.4.20302
OS : windows 7

Until this week, i used Ranorex on windows xp. From the repository, when i clicked on an edit button of an item, it opened the Ranorex view with a focus on the item in the application tree.

I moved on another computer with windows 7. Every things is ok except the Ranorex View tree refreshing. Now, when i click on an item, it opens the Ranorex view without show the item within my application tree. To see it, i have to open the path editor. When i close it, i can see my item within the application tree in the Ranorex view.

It's not confortable. Is there a way to solve this problem ?
Thank you in advance for your help.
Florent

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: View spy tree does not refresh

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:37 pm

Hi,

In general there shouldn't be any differences between the different systems.
Which Ranorex version is in use on the XP machine.
Could it be that something had changed in your application under test?
Normally you have to press "Enter" in order to show the item with the specific RxPath.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

User avatar
Florent
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Amiens / France

Re: View spy tree does not refresh

Post by Florent » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:02 am

Hi Markus,

I used the same Ranorex version on the XP machine and nothings has changed in my application.
I forgot to tell you something : on the XP machine, i used Ranorex directly from the computer. Now, i'm using Ranorex from a server.

Nothings happens when i click on "Enter"

Is it due to my remote configuration ?

(i have unchecked "Use asynchronous dispatching of mouse and keyboard events")

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: View spy tree does not refresh

Post by Support Team » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:13 pm

Hi Florent,

I researched a bit and you are right this is unfortunately a bug in version 3.3.4.
I already added it to our internal bug tracking system and it will be fixed with our next release (4.0).

Nevertheless Spy should select/search for your item after you pressed ENTER (make sure that the path field of Spy is selected).
What do you exactly mean with you are using Ranorex from a server, are you using a license server?

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

User avatar
Florent
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm
Location: Amiens / France

Re: View spy tree does not refresh

Post by Florent » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:38 pm

Indeed, when i select the path field before clicking on ENTER, it works. Let's go for this solution by waiting the 4.0 version of Ranorex.

I mean Ranorex is installed on a computer that i lead from a remote desktop session.

Thank your Markus