Page 1 of 1

selecting items in an ultralistview

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:09 pm
by testMunky
Hello,

we have an application built using infragistics controls. I have V1.4 installed and have used it with some of the ultragrid controls successfully, but was wondering if anyone knew if it was possible to automate the selection of items within an ultralist?

Basically the app contains a list view that contains 'groups' to put users in to. The users are also displayed in a list view but for what i'm doing i create a new one therefore the user is already active. Once the user is selected i need to select the desired 'group' name from the list then click the accept (tick) button. There is no problem accepting as i can find this button without a problem. What i am unable to do is select an individual 'item' as it were from the list.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

:D

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:47 am
by Support Team
Hi,

How did you try to access a list item? Could you be so kind and post a code snippet?

We've built an example application using this type of Infragistics control. After that we've analyzed the list with RanorexSpy. Normally, you should be able to get access to your preferred elements using the Ranorex element based way as already described in some of our blog posts.

http://www.ranorex.com/blog/element-bas ... s-controls

thanks,

Christoph,
Ranorex Support Team

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:08 am
by testMunky
I've run through your example already as it uses an ultragrid like I have else where in this app.

Code: Select all

form = Ranorex.Application.FindFormTitle("App Name");
// Find child by control name
control = form.FindControlName("uxCurrentItems");
control.Focus();
// Find table element
Element table = control.Element.FindChild(Role.Table, "ultraGrid1");
Element[] rows = table.FindChildren(Role.Row);
Logger.Info("User", "RowCount: " + rows.Length.ToString());
Using this code I can return the number of rows within my grid and i can go on to get data out etc. However, i can't do this with my 'ultraListView'. The element is listed as 'client' and the spy tool can not highlight the individual item(s) in the list.

Am I right in thinking that as the spy tool can not identify the individual item in the list, there is no way for me to perform an action directly to it??

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:18 am
by testMunky
The image above doesn't really show what i need to do....

The image below shows the list which has been populated further. What we need to do is to select a specific item from this list, but do it without mouse movements and clicks.

They way it seems to me is that the way it has been developed doesn't allow for the individual list items to be selected :(

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:25 pm
by Support Team
It looks for me that we have to analyze your application or a sample using your Infragistics control.

Would it be possible for you to send us an example application to support(at)ranorex.com?

best regards,

Christoph
Ranorex Support Team

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:25 pm
by testMunky
i'm not developing this app and i don't have an Infragistics licence, and I am unable to release the app i am using. I shall try to get a developer to produce a small sample app if i can.