Page 2 of 2

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:12 am
by Deepak_Singh
Hi,

Sorry but I am afraid that The Caching of the folder's is not helping here.
Is there any other option available?

By the Way I am not able to understand one thing, Why "SUPPORT TEAM" is not helping us out or atleast looking in the problem here. :?:

I hope to see a Reply/Suggestion from support team on this.

Thanks,
Deepak

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:24 am
by odklizec
Hi,

I cannot speak on behalf of the support team, but in my humble opinion, they will not be able to help you out without the snapshot file and/or the access to your app, eventually your test project. I already asked you about the snapshot and access to your application under test. You see, it's hard to help you without seeing the problem. Maybe your application under the test is simply not Ranorex-friendly? Maybe there is something wrong in your test? Maybe it's something browser related (if we are discussing web-based application)? There are too many possibilities why it fails for you.

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:30 am
by mzperix
Hi,

When you drag an element from the widgets, the structure of the DOM gets updated.
If your ranorexpath is not good enough, than after you drag the first element, the script will inevitably fail.

The things you can do to make your Ranorexpath more stable:
- try to recognise the widgets by a unique attribute, like @id, or @caption
- if the Ranorexpath contains indexes (like /div[13]/), then leave it out.
- make sure that after you make cahnges, check in Spy, that Ranorex still finds only one item.

But the best would be, if you could share the snapshot, screenshot or an example xpath.

Without more information, help in not efficient, as we are just firing in the sky our ideas.

Best regards,
Zoltán

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:27 pm
by Deepak_Singh
Hi,

Here is the Snapshot of the object.
Kindly look into it and Provide your feedback.

Thanks In Advance,
Deepak

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:57 pm
by odklizec
Hi,

In the snapshot you uploaded, the actual element (the element with which the Spy is open) has a dynamic attribute "unselectable" which value is ON. I'm not an expert in web apps, but maybe this is the reason why Ranorex cannot click/select this element? ;)
unselectable.png
I think you need to use one level higher element (without "unselectable" attribute).
dummy_panel.png
Just replace div[1] at the end of path with preceding-sibling::div[1]
So the whole path should look like this:
/dom[@domain='ecp-qa.credit-suisse.com']//div[#'ecp-body']/iframe[@id='ecp-main-workspace']//body[#'layout-body']/div[6]/div[2]/div[1]/div/div/div/div/div/div[2]/div[1]/preceding-sibling::div[1]
Hope this helps?

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:01 pm
by Deepak_Singh
Hi,

Will try this on monday. If this helps then you are a genius.
In the mean time if any other thing comes to your mind then please let me know.

@mzperix Anything on your mind??? :?:

Thanks in advance,
Deepak :D

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:07 pm
by mzperix
Hi Deepak,

I don't see the snapshot attached, is there anything I am missing?

But I would say, based on the following RxPath:

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain='ecp-qa.credit-suisse.com']//div[#'ecp-body']/iframe[@id='ecp-main-workspace']//body[#'layout-body']/div[6]/div[2]/div[1]/div/div/div/div/div/div[2]/div[1]/preceding-sibling::div[1]

The only thing to identifiy the element is its index position. Try to use a more exact property, like Id, class, caption, or even text. This way, you can leave out all of the divs, and have an xpath like this (I assume the div has a unique ID):

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain='ecp-qa.credit-suisse.com']//div[#'ecp-body']/iframe[@id='ecp-main-workspace']//body[#'layout-body']//div[@id='some_id']
Of course, if there is a container div, that contains all of the needed widgets, you can put it into the xpath:

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain='ecp-qa.credit-suisse.com']//div[#'ecp-body']/iframe[@id='ecp-main-workspace']//body[#'layout-body']//div[@id='container_id']//div[@id='some_id']

I suggest to look more deeply into using Xpath, since this is the bread and butter of using Ranorex effectively: http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... xpath.html

Regards,
Zoltán

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:12 pm
by odklizec
It seems Deepak removed the snapshot from his post?

BTW, Deepak, did you solve the D&D problem? Was it caused by the "unselectable" attribute?

Re: Regarding Drop and Drag functionality

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:21 pm
by Deepak_Singh
Hi,

The help you guys gave me helped me to solve the issue.
And Yes because of the "unselectable" issue we were not able to drag it. We are currently in sync with the developers. Hope to get a solution soon.
I will definitely post the solution after I am done with it.

Thanks guys,
Deepak