Page 1 of 1

Rawtext does not work on different systems

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:38 am
by SteveBeck
Hi,

I am currently using Rawtext in my automations, and it works on most of the systems we are running on. However, 2 systems (Desktop w10, and a VM) are unable to work with RawText at all. The tests do not pick up the elements and if you use the Spy on those systems the elements do not include their RawText children.

RawText worked out of the box on the systems it is working on, are there other setup steps that I am missing?

Thanks.

Re: Rawtext does not work on different systems

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:43 am
by odklizec
Hi,

A most common reason of problem like this is that there is not the same Ranorex setting used on all systems? The GDI Capture List is stored in Ranorex setttings (rxsettings file) an so it must be distributed on all systems. The easiest way to assure Ranorex settings are distributed on all systems is to store them within the solution and solution itself should be distributed via version control system (SVN, TFS, GIT, etc).

Another possibility why rawtext is not identified correctly is, that the affected systems have installed different version of .net (or other libs) critical for Ranorex and so Ranorex behaves differently on these systems. So make sure all systems have installed the same versions of .net libs and vc runtimes.

Re: Rawtext does not work on different systems

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:31 am
by Stub
IIRC, to get my use of RawText to work across systems I had to add my Process and Class names to the RawText Plugin - GDI Capture Settings in the solution, as odklizec notes. Once that was done I was able to see the RawText elements correctly.

However, I do have to cope with significant differences in what the GDI capture system detects between x86 and x64 applications. It's also different between OS', so I have code to manipulate its use differently between platforms and OS' e.g. Win7 vs Win10.